Anyway to stop Nintendo updates when connecting to internetz?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TheGlow, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. TheGlow
    OP

    TheGlow Newbie

    I have priiloader installed and enabled the block updates for disc and online, however everytime I connect to the internet I get a pop up saying nintendo recommends an update.

    can I stop these? I thought thats what priiloader is blocking. or is it if I hit yes, priiloader will stop it from working?
    Because currently Im paranoid and keep deleting my wifi settings after each use so no one accidentally goes and updates it
     
  2. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    It should not prompt you for an update anytime the Wii has .net access. It should only happen after you test a connection (in the Wii options) and (if not of the current version) in the shop channel.
     
  3. Arek1985

    Newcomer Arek1985 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Well the priiloader hack does stop the update, however if the shop channel needs to update you won't be able to load it. Typically if Nintendo has an update it is best to wait to see what the update does. Then download and install it manually. So too my knowledge it does work, but if it involves certain channels such as the shop you won't be able to load the shop channel until you get the updated IOS and shop channel.
     
  4. TheGlow
    OP

    TheGlow Newbie

    nod, im on a 4.1 now hence i guess its asking me about 4.2
    so I can just leave the wifi enabled and itll only ask that one time?
    i was afraid it would pop up on every boot or some such.
    and if someone hits yes, priiloader should block it from advancing, yes?
     
  5. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Correct
     
  6. Eddie_Brock

    Member Eddie_Brock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Country:
    Canada
    If you reply 'Yes' to an update, Preloader will not stop it from updating...
     
  7. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yes it will. It forces an error that stops it.
     
  8. LxTrix

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    Ya know i enabled priiloader to do this but never actually wanted to test if it works, but good to know that it does. [​IMG]
     
  9. TheGlow
    OP

    TheGlow Newbie

    Exactly. not something I wanna hit yes and confirm.
    thanks for the info.
    got a lil tired of constantly entering my wifi settings in a panic
    i know my friend didnt use priiloader and in less than an hour his wife upgraded and undid all his softmodding.
    luckily he was able to redo it.
     

Share This Page