anyway to run redsnow mac on windows?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by pikachu945, Dec 28, 2010.

Dec 28, 2010
  1. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    I want to run redsn0w 0.9.7b3 but its currently only on Mac OS X and I do not want to go through all tons of crap
    and install VMWare to run it on virtual pc any suggestions?
     
  2. hatredg0d

    Member hatredg0d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    vmware workstation maybe?
     
  3. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simplest option is to wait a few days, comex's JailbreakMe 3.0 is meant to be released on Friday, so you can have untethered jailbreak then. Redsn0w for Windows should be out in the next few weeks too. Unless you happen to know someone who has a Mac, and you have 4.2b3 IPSW and SHSH blobs, I'd strongly recommend waiting for JailbreakMe 3.0, deal with tethered jailbreak till then if you already updated.
     
  4. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's not worth the hassle of installing mac just to use redsn0w your better off waiting patiently until the windows version comes out.(or if you have a friend you know who has a mac, use there's)

    or use virtualbox [​IMG]
     
  5. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    is it bad if I do not have 4.2b3 blobs?
     
  6. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's needed to jailbreak
     
  7. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    I only have in my tinyumbrella
    iPod4G 4.2.1 blob thats it
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no way for you to use redsn0w untethered in this case. If you have 4.1 blobs, they may be used by a future version of redsn0w, but if not, you must rely on JailbreakMe 3.0 for untethered 4.2.1 jailbreak.
     
  9. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    restore to official 4.2.1 using guide here

    then follow this guide here
     
  10. ThePowerOutage

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just do it tethered for now, you most likely won't turn it off.
     
  11. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    is sleep mode the same as it turned off?
     
  12. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no, only a full reboot or shut down does
     
  13. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    Jailbreak Me 3.0 should be my best option because I do not thing the 4.2.1 blob I have now will work
     
  14. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you mean locked, then that is OK and won't lose jailbreak. You can still power on without re-jailbreaking, but any jailbreak apps will not work, so if you have any Mobile Substrate stuff (e.g. winterboard, any springboard mods etc.), your iPod will most likely freeze on boot.
     
  15. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    can someone point me in the direction where I can keep updated with Jailbreak Me 3.0
    and will I need my 4.2b3 blob to get untethered?
     
  16. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Keep an eye on any tech blog, or on @comex's twitter account [http://www.twitter.com/comex]

    And no, JailbreakMe 3.0 will untether without any blobs.
     
  17. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    ok got it lol
     
  18. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    I do not like tethered jailbreaks such a pain lol
     

Share This Page