Anyway to play super mario bros. 2 J (AKA the lost levels)?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by KOman, May 23, 2010.

  1. KOman
    OP

    Newcomer KOman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Given that the game is a famicom disk system game, can it be played on nesDS? Is there a patch to make it playable?
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    There are normal versions out there...
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, it should be playable, nesDS plays U, E and J ROMs.
     
  4. KOman
    OP

    Newcomer KOman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I asked becasue the file extension is normally .fds unless you get a hacked/ patched version - I know there was a patch for the pocketnes emulator on the GBA that you had to apply to get it working properly
     
  5. Demonbart

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    IIRC I had a .nes rom of the lost levels, so it should be out there somewhere.
    If it's not, then I've got question 2 here for you [​IMG] :
    Did the patch fix the rom or the emu? If it fixes the rom, see if the patched rom works for nesds.
    If it fixes the emu, then I can't think of another way to get it working.
     
  6. KOman
    OP

    Newcomer KOman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    The patch was for the rom; I'll try it when I get home and post here if it works...
     
  7. m0nkeyf00t

    Newcomer m0nkeyf00t Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    you can always play it snes though supermario allstars+super maio world
     
  8. aragon

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    You could also try to patch the Famicom Mini Series version for the GBA. This worked fine for me.
     
  9. choconado

    Member choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States

    but then you can't use the almighty rewind button that nesds has.

    Seriously, it's made me a far better player of so many nes titles.
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, I've been playing this one since I got my Cyclo.

    Use the PocketNES patch on the [p1] rom.
    I never tried without the patch, but the patch cannot hurt, right?
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You can either use NesterDS+ which has support for Famicom files (with the right disksys.rom file), or use the patch from http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/gbafan/nes.html on the "Super Mario Bros 2 (J) [p1].nes" version of the rom. The patch won't magically turn it into the actual SMB2 game, but it's a modification that makes it come fairly close. Apparently there are a couple of minor details that aren't in the patched copy.
     
  12. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    This is alot of work and I don't even know if it will work, but you could try ripping it from the Wii's VC version of it...

    From what I know, I believe it is part of content 00000005.app if you rip open the WAD...

    Again, IDK if it'd work...
     
  13. KOman
    OP

    Newcomer KOman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    So, I found the solution I was referring to earlier. Someone hacked the .fds version to make a file called "Super_Mario_Bros_2_(Lost_Levels)_(Unl).nes". This file is ~76 kb for anyone interested. The patch is in a zip file called "smb2j-ips.zip" - the patch was made by Loopy of pocketheaven. Just use an IPS patcher and it should work - I tried it and it works on nesds. Note that the patch also gives you to option to choose to start from any level at the start screen.
     
  14. KOman
    OP

    Newcomer KOman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    whoops, didn't notice the new posts - the [p1] version will also work with the patch...
     

Share This Page