Hacking Anyway to order the Games in alphabetical order

Feels Good Man

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2007
Messages
1,640
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
797
Country
Canada
That FATSORT thing cant work for some reason. Im pretty sure because im not the computer admin and turned off some privileges >__>

So yeah is there a way to do this w/o downloading anything?

Thans =)
 

GodMedia

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
114
Country
United States
Without downloading anything? Hmmm....

Well, you need to get the ROMs somewhere...
biggrin.gif


...or maybe you're the one guy only running homebrew and legal backups you made yourself of your own games?
yaynds.gif


Seriously, FATSORT probably isn't working because you've maybe formatted your card as FAT32, not FAT. I had the same problem. DRIVESORT, however, was a dream and did the job very nicely.
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
This probably goes without saying, but yes, you can order your games in alphabetical order without downloading anything. Copy your files to your hard drive, reformat your flash card, then copy the files back to your flash card one at a time in alphabetical order, and they'll be ordered that way in the list on the DS.

-Bri
 

rwilts

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
109
Trophies
0
XP
81
Country
At the risk of being flammed for lack of research,,

BUT

I have just done some swapping over of roms on my card from within ROMINATOR and the new roms appear to have been placed at random locations.

What i mean is the 4 new titles are not appearing alphabetically ( known) but neither are they at the bottom of the list!

If this is the case would it be possible ( i cannot check today ) to drag the files to a specific place in the list from within Rominator to get an alphabetical order?
 

cmoneyr

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
United States
This is probably a stupid question, but do you guys rename the files when you put them on your cart? I just got mine yesterday and just threw them on the card without renaming and it's a pain to figure out which game is which.
 

helpme

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
478
Trophies
0
Location
uk
Website
Visit site
XP
136
Country
i always run my roms through offlinelist & it renames my roms for me i like them to have number- name (region)source

QUOTE said:
1945 - Tanoshii Youchien - Kotoba to Asobo! (JP)6rz
1946 - Mario & Sonic at Beijing Olympics (JP)MaxG
1947 - Sekai no Shougi (JP)6rz
1948 - Simple DS Series Vol. 28 - The Illust Puzzle & Suuji Puzzle 2 (JP)6rz
1949 - Simple DS Series Vol. 30 - The Table Game (JP)6rz
1950 - Tokutenryoku Gakushuu DS - Shougakkou Youten Matome (JP)6rz
1951 - Chajara! Gaeguri Jungsa Keroro Teullingeurimchatgi Daejakjeon! (KS)EXiMiUS
1952 - SpongeBob's Atlantis SquarePantis (KS)EXiMiUS
1953 - Sims 2 - Castaway, The (KS)EXiMiUS
1954 - EA Playground (KS)EXiMiUS
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
cmoneyr,

I use Rominator to rename mine as they are copied to the flash card. I prefer just to have the name without any additional information.

rwilts,

Unfortunately, I believe they appear in whatever order they happen to be listed in the file table. If you delete then add new games, the old names will generally be replaced with the new ones, and they will not be in any discernable order. You can use one of the programs mentioned earlier in this thread to reorder the file table. But before you do it, you might want to make a backup of the flash card, because sometimes the file table can become corrupted durng this process, and the files will become unreadable (you have to reformat your flash card at that point).

-Bri
 

cmoneyr

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
United States
Cool thanks, I'll have to give Rominator a go. I'd like to just have the name of the rom, I don't need any other info.
 

GodMedia

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
114
Country
United States
Any decent renamer will let you set up the way you want your roms named.

I personally like to have ROM NAME (REGION)_NUMBER.nds

I use NDSCRC primarily for renaming my roms.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: *puts away undertaker uniform* lol