Anyway to emulate a microphone on No$GBA?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Darkcloak, Dec 19, 2008.

Dec 19, 2008
  1. Darkcloak
    OP

    Newcomer Darkcloak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to play Zelda: Phantom Hourglass, and I've heard there is a way to trick the emulater by messing with your mixer settings or something and playing music at maximum volume. Any help is appreciated, thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Click the volume icon in your taskbar or access it in control panel and go to the settings for recording and set "stereo mix" as your input. turn up the input for whatever you're going to use and you can play a wav, mp3 or cd which will register as loud noise.
     
  3. Darkcloak
    OP

    Newcomer Darkcloak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks alot! I got past the fortune teller part using this trick, I only hope this trick will work when I need the mic again to put some candles out.
     
  4. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Seeing how your not buying the hardware you could atleast buy a 2 dollor mic [​IMG]
     
  5. Darkcloak
    OP

    Newcomer Darkcloak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I had one built into my webcam but I had to lend it to my cousin.
     
  6. Martiin

    Member Martiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
  7. gokujr1000

    Member gokujr1000 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    Australia
  8. Evilmaster1985

    Member Evilmaster1985 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.

    You could even plug ur headphones into the mic port without modding it at all.
    Use them and it works.... however the sound is very poor \ low quallity.

    Greetz, Vistabuser.
     
  9. gokujr1000

    Member gokujr1000 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    Australia
    so it records your own voice by doing it?
     
  10. Martiin

    Member Martiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    well Vistabuser says its poor quality, but i've tried it just now, and it works for me
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,703
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @gokujr1000 it would have been my suggestion to but a speaker (and so headphones) work by turning a electrical signal into a magnetic field and moving a speaker head (and the cone it is attached to thus creating sound).
    Microphones work by taking the incoming air vibrations (sound) and moving a magnet creating an electrical response as a result.

    It is the same idea behind motors becoming dynamos and vice versa, naturally there are enhancements that can be made for both jobs so it is not going to be that good.
     

Share This Page