Anyway to copy gamecube saves to other memory cards?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RemixDeluxe, May 24, 2011.

  1. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,297
    Country:
    United States
    Before I was using the 250 block black memory card but then I upgraded to a 1019 block white memory card. I wanted to transfer all my saves onto the white memory card so I have all my games on one card. But there are some games I have that cannot be copied over. (Chao garden from SA2B, Pokemon Colloseum, Pokemon XD) Is it possible to unblock whatever is preventing me from copying data over?
     
  2. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,297
    Country:
    United States
    I know its possible for nontransferable Wii saves to be transferred over using priloader but can the same be done for gamecube saves?
     
  3. LinkFan16

    Member LinkFan16 I link them all

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe try using this. With it you might be able to copy the protected saves to an SD Card and then back onto your other memory card, haven't tried myself with protected saves.

    Edit: Fixed a stupid typo
     
  4. ciris

    Member ciris GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    I second LinkFan16 recommended action. Its really about the only way to backup your saves. I wish GameCube Save sites werent so scare [​IMG] I found a forum a while back that was ok but didnt have many saves, I think you can find some here too. If you have some good saves you should share them [​IMG]
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Besides all of the memory card managers for the Wii?
     
  7. ShinyLatios

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Really? I have PAL and NTSC mixed through my memory card and it works and saves just fine!
     
  8. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really ? Could you write a guide of how to do this..I'm sure you would stand a great chance of winning the tutorial contest as no one has ever documented it online afaik. [​IMG]

    For anyone reading this, don't mix region saves without a backup ! it WILL force a format on your saves and they will be gone.
     
  9. LinkFan16

    Member LinkFan16 I link them all

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Germany
    If you mix Europe and USA saves, it should be fine. Just don't mix them with JAP saves, because then you will have to format your memory card.

    Edit: fixed a typo again... man I shouldn't type so fast
     
  10. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,297
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried both NuGaSa and GCMM and neither works for both of my memory cards. From what I read both applications do not work properly with official Nintendo Memory cards so what am I left to do at this point? Is there another Save manager that can work with Official Nintendo Memory cards?
     
  11. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    NuGaSa apparently works with official memory cards (according to the wiibrew page), although I don't have any to try, so I cant tell for sure.

    What happens when you try to use your memory cards with it?
     
  12. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,297
    Country:
    United States
    When I use NuGaSa it instructs me to either press 1 for backup or press 2 for restore. I press 1 and nothing happens at all. There isnt anything happening on screen to indicate that I'm doing any action at all. The only button that works is press home button to go back to loader. I installed NuGaSa through the homebrew Browser to make sure it puts the correct files on my SD card. Can someone tell me what im doing wrong with NuGaSa, it doesn't show any action at all when I press any button except for home button?
     
  13. Tantric

    Member Tantric GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Canada
    None of the Wii memory card managers work with Nintendo cards. Your other option is to try an app in GameCube mode. They work fine there...
     
  14. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If Tantric is right then the only app that I could find was this but to use that, you need an SD Gecko.

    While I was looking around, though, I found some info, so try this:
    [*]Start System menu, and unplug the memory card. wait 1 second and then plug it back in the wii[*]Go to the settings menu in system menu[*]Go to the Data management menu; followed by the save menu[*]Go to the Gamecube menu and look at the card you wish to use (in slot A)[*]hit the back button untill you are back at the main menu (channel selection) and start Homebrew channel[*]boot NuGaSa

    If those still don't work then try those steps with this app (which is the app those steps were made for in the first place)
     
  15. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
  16. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ lolwut..ty m8 [​IMG]
    Wonder if this would transfer the games tied to a card (F-Zero,Pokemon etc..?)

    @ Tantric (if you're reading still)
    I thought I'd read about a year ago you, or emukid, or both wrote some code that does the "unlocking" for the official mem cards to save the user needing to visit the data management screen, was this source released or used in released apps ?
     
  17. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No problem here also. Mixed ntsc with Pal, No problem.
     

Share This Page