1. Sebastian25

    OP Sebastian25 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed some homebrew lets you boot back to wii menu, are there any developers working on a Gamecube to Wii mode?

    Its slightly inconvient to power off the wii and power it back on when switching games in gamecube.

    If someone ever finds a solution, I would greatly appreciate it.
     
  2. Jm9760

    Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    229
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I never understood why you can't use the home button while playing a gamecube game.
     
  3. kedest

    kedest GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,289
    Country:
    Netherlands
    when running gc software the wii really becomes a gamecube. the wii hardware can't be used, so no wiimote functionality and no returning to the wii menu
     
  4. Jm9760

    Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    229
    Country:
    United States
    I understand that, but that's only because Nintendo chose to do it that way. I'm sure they could have made it so that when you're playing a gamecube game the wii part didn't "shut off" and it solely became a gamecube. Maybe I'm wrong, but that's how I see it.
     
  5. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,839
    Country:
    I think calling the soft reset procedure in GC mode will result in the Wii menu...
     
  6. Trolly

    Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,716
    Country:
    Yeah but, it was basically just the easiest, cheapest, best and most hack-proof way of doing it. So they win all round. I should think that's why.
     
  7. Sebastian25

    OP Sebastian25 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    The QOOB PRO modchip for the Gamecube reset to a multi boot menu. If Linux can be booted from Gamecube mode, then Im kinda confused why it would NOT be possible.

    anyone know for sure?
     
  8. deadrabbit

    deadrabbit Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    Is there a way to run the gamecube menu in wii mode, Im sure it would take a tonne of work, but im interested to know if its theoretically possible.
    What great homebrew that would be - almost like a GC emulator.
     
  9. Trolly

    Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,716
    Country:
    Yeah, I wonder if the Wii even has the power to emulate the GameCube though...
    I doubt it, to be honest, and it would take a genius and years of work to do if it was possible.
     
  10. TSPhoenix

    TSPhoenix GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    They have the same hardware architecture so emulation isn't necessary. Basically the idea is that you'd insert a layer around GC mode that would be able to halt GC mode and return to Wii mode. All theoretical mind you but as long as we are speaking theoretical if we could get that far it'd probably be possible to reroute memory card and controller slots to different addresses so you could memory map the GC save to a folder on your SD card or something. Theoretically.
     
  11. sblur

    sblur Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Calling M_HOTRESET; anywhere will cause a reboot.

    This code has been around since openGC, or whatever libogc's predecessor was called, because that's where I just copied it from.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gamecube, Anyway,