Homebrew Anything useful with Opera RAM pack?

Corygarry

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
88
Country
United States
I was wondering if there was anything useful to me rather than browsing online with the Opera internet provider using the RAM pack that comes with it. I have an R4 and I'm not sure to buy an EZ Flash 3 in 1 for gba games or if there was some way to do this with the Ram pack.
 

kobykaan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,993
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
196
Country
Corygarry said:
I was wondering if there was anything useful to me rather than browsing online with the Opera internet provider using the RAM pack that comes with it. I have an R4 and I'm not sure to buy an EZ Flash 3 in 1 for gba games or if there was some way to do this with the Ram pack.


Doubtful that its any great use for other other than the browser as its only 20MB temporary storage
 

myuusmeow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
1,646
Trophies
0
Website
google.com
XP
307
Country
United States
kobykaan said:
Corygarry said:
I was wondering if there was anything useful to me rather than browsing online with the Opera internet provider using the RAM pack that comes with it. I have an R4 and I'm not sure to buy an EZ Flash 3 in 1 for gba games or if there was some way to do this with the Ram pack.


Doubtful that its any great use for other other than the browser as its only 20MB temporary storage
Not 20MB. More like 8MB. (I've heard some say 10MB)
 

Japhle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
236
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Wisconsin
Website
Visit site
XP
109
Country
United States
What I heard was 8MB, but anyways, I think the only thing that uses it (that I know MIGHT use it)
is SNEmulDS. But I'm sure there are a few others that probably use it aswell.

Edit:I found out that neoDS will use it as well.
 

Rymel

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Location
si:nyc
XP
230
Country
United States
there's a list on i believe the cyclo wiki of homebrew that uses it. i think snemulds uses it now, quake 1 and 2 use it too. i can't remember anything else past that sorry. but this is regarding the ezflashv 3in1's ram pack, which may or may not apply to the official. i don't see why it wouldn't though.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
33,866
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
22,598
Country
United Kingdom
As far as I know the official ram pack is supported by the ram api from lick which most people use, it is only 8 megs according to that (which means only 8 are used even if there is more):
http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=13023

Homebrew that uses it. Rymel started it and listed most of it, DSlinux has support for the retawq browser.
Edit: would you believe I was at the quake 2 site earlier today. Only carts with 16 or megabytes of ram can be used for Quake2. Other homebrew may also fall into this trap in the future.

GBA games: not a chance (if memory serves it was because the memory gets set to 09XXXXXX hex while the GBA roms (up to 16 megs anyhow) use 08XXXXXX hex and porting is not going to happen, especially while expansion packs are so easy to get ahold of).
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,355
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Georgia
XP
479
Country
United States
Right, it has to do with the hex address that GBA games start execution at, which is located before the first possible place you can write to the Opera cart.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
    mr_switch @ mr_switch: I just want a true dark mode theme for OLED Switch