Anything on acekard yet, or should I just update?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by 3bbb7, Apr 4, 2013.

Apr 4, 2013
  1. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Im on firmware 4.3 something and I haven't really heard anything about acekard but I was just making sure.
    Is it worth updating to the latest firmware or stay on 4.3 now and keep using my acekard?
     
  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    there wont be an update
    the cards internal memory is at its limit
    so the update isnt possible
     
  3. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,729
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The Acekard is never going to update, they ran out of room. They would need to make a new card to update it, but since the DS is dead, it would be a serious waste of money to do that now.

    You could just pick up a DS Lite really cheap if you want to keep using your Acekard or buy a new flashcard like the DSTwo or R4i Gold. From nds-card.com of course, GBAtemp's official sponsor.
     
  4. Xuang

    Member Xuang Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    I updated, basically dun give a F*** but if 3DS is the only thing you have then it's probably best to buy another flashcart for it. (I also have acekard) hmm I re-read what you posted and it seems like you want to update your DS which is weird because your on a 3DS forum so yeah if it's DS then don't update it.
     
  5. jomaper

    Member jomaper Some random argie lost in the Internet.

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Country:
    Argentina
    I wouldn't update just because of the hacking option in the future. But if you don't care about that get a DSTwo. Or if you do care get a DS.
     
  6. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    its a 3ds, I dont know the exact firmware its just 4.3.something

    Well i traded in my ds lite when I got my 3ds at launch. I wouldve traded my DSi but I needed to transfer games and stuff :(
    So i have a DSi with a barely working R button thats why I dont update my 3DS, but I dont want to bring both dsi and 3ds to play acekard.
    I have had bad experiences with r4i, so I'll probably buy DSTwo
    Plus I can play GBA games on DSTwo right?
     
  7. Metab.

    Member Metab. Check my signature for the latest news on the 3DS

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah DSTwo has a really good emulator plugin.
    Probably the best flashcard you can buy.
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    an update is possible, the problem is finding an exploitable ROM that can work. with that said, they gave up looking and were talking about updated hardware instead. hopefully they will release something but its starting to look like they won't. i can't rightly blame them. teams should be trying to focus on 3ds-mode now and not the ds.

    -another world
     
  9. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    ah ok, i thought that it had come to the conclusion that there was no exploitable roms left at a filesize they could work with, but i guess the result is the same.
    updated hardware would be good, everyone has loyalists, might even be a competitor for the DSTwo :P
    but yeah, no new big DS games left now really, 3DS mode needs to have a glimmer of hope, i dont think rom loaders are needed now tho, id rarther it kept under wraps until nearer the end of its life. then Nintendo are happy because they cant blame sales on piracy, and people that missed out on games/ hard to obtain games can play them eventually
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah space is the issue. Didn't they even resort to compression for a few updates which is what caused the long loading times?

    But the time for a new hardware model is pretty much passing unless it has something really special in 3DS support.
     
  11. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Is DSTwo worth the big price? I bought my ak2i for $18 and have never had an issue with contact, loading compatibility, etc and ive had it nearly 3 years.
    Is the DSTwo good in quality as well? are there any chances that it will be the same as the acekard and just die?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    DSTwo has the best update ability, it's worth the price just for that.
     
  13. Thorhian

    Member Thorhian My CPU's prefer Water

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Shazezar
    Country:
    United States
    LISTEN TO HIM!! Lol. Just buy the DSTwo. From what I've learned from people and Rydian, DSTwo offloads some of the Boot data to the SD card, theoretically protecting it from the DSi's update method.
     

Share This Page