Anyone's DS brick because of R4 clone?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ericling, Feb 26, 2009.

Feb 26, 2009
  1. ericling
    OP

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Anyone's DS brick because of R4 clone?
    I am very very worry about my DS...
    I just bought a R4III....(obiously it is clone...)
    And now I have 2 question:

    1)I heard that if a DS bricked,
    it can be unbrick???
    2)How to prevent R4 clone brick my ds?

    Anyone's DS brick because of R4 clone?
     
  2. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It will not really BRICK your DS, some poor quality carts draw too much current and will blow F2 (the main fuse on the DS) It can be repaired if you are competant at soldering.

    How to prevent - don't buy a cheap clone??

    DSTT (fakes) - they seem to have the title of most likely to blow the fuse - however it is still very rare.
     
  3. BowlOfSpiders

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly what he said. =)
     
  4. ericling
    OP

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Oh!Now i know why a ds will brick...
    Its only too much current and will blow F2.......
    i think that is because the bricker is a virus....
    It can be repair???

    I have another question:
    What is YSMenu?
     
  5. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Seriously speak proper sentences or not at all, im not sure if your agreeing with kittymat or saying that hes wrong and your right...
     
  6. Wolvenreign

    Member Wolvenreign Transhuman Satanist Furry Technocrat

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Country:
    United States
    Despite most people's hatred of R4 clones, R4-III (frm r4dsl.net) has never been reported to brick DSs, and has been released since about...September 08, I believe?

    It's really not a bad option, and you haven't been screwed as bad as R4 Ultra or R4 SDHC customers. R4-III actually gets support and regular updates, but you'll go through hell getting some of the cheats to work.

    PM (private message) me after you get the R4-III, and I'll give you instuctions on how to get Chrono Trigger DS to work on there. No one seems to appreciate my work for the card, so you're better off just asking me in person.
     
  7. ericling
    OP

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks Wolvenreign....
    But,what thing that i cannot to do to avoid of R4 clone brick my ds?
    Don't using cheat???
    Or don't update kernel or other else....
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Use YSMenu and you should be fine.
     
  9. ericling
    OP

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    YSMenu is prevent R4clone to brick my ds?
     

Share This Page