1. glitchbit

    OP glitchbit GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    I can't play Mario Kart Wii in 3 or 4 player mode it is so laggy. I honestly don't feel like it is running at 30 fps or even 24-25fps, it feels like 20 fps.... I have done a lot of video editing and have played plenty of games at different frame rates, so I know what 30fps feels like and I do not feel like MKWii is even at that in 3-4 player.

    I know on the PSP people were able to figure out how to overclock and underclock it using software only, I hope the wii is capable of the samething. I think where nintendo screwed up was putting so many people on the track and widening the tracks (kind of understandable for widescreen tv's).

    Maybe I should try setting my Wii for a standard television and let my television stretch it then see how 4 player plays. I imagine most if not all reviewers used widescreen tv's.
     
  2. tredes

    tredes GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    my wii gets hot enough as it is..
     
  3. Elo

    Elo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    New Zealand
    lol,are u serious?? ive not had any problems with playing 3/4 player and i do that alot.. from all the captures ive done of it, it runs smooth as.. i bet it's a) ure tv b) something wrong with ure wii c) ure cables.. as neither me nor the two friends of mine with a wii who ive tested mkwii with have had any problems at all with 4 players/max cpu opponents..even on some of the more intense tracks with items flying overhead..
     
  4. square

    square The Professor
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,353
    Country:
    United States
    Could something be wrong with your wii or disc? I haven't noticed any slow down with 2 players, and 3 to 4 appears to run at least 50-60 FPS on mine.
     
  5. noONE

    noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Country:
    Sweden
    The thing with PSP , is that it was UNDERclocked from the beginning, so they just had to set it to "standard" clockspeed.. so it isn't really the same thing..
    also, i don't find any issues like that in 3-4 player..
     
  6. Eden

    Eden Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    I noticed it as well. It seems like they dropped the frame rate from 60FPS to 30FPS for 3 and 4 player. I'm sure if you do a google search it would confirm that. A few games do that, Halo 3 sits prominently in my mind.

    To get around that we just use two TV's and play online, however we're all in the same room.
     
  7. stev418

    stev418 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    would it be due to using wiikey 1.9g or 1.9s firmware with the lower read speed?
     
  8. manias

    manias GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    no
     
  9. Sebastian25

    Sebastian25 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    it's your router or network connection that is causing the lag. Mario Kart runs fine with 4 player online
     
  10. xtrem3x

    xtrem3x GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    You founda way to do 4 player online..?
    Do you even have a Wii?
     
  11. dweirdo

    dweirdo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    i dont think its possible,can some 1 refer me to the wii specs?
    EDIT:i think sebastain meant that 4 players online not from the same TV
     
  12. Endogene

    Endogene GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Country:
    France
    yes that is the case, whenever you play local multi player the framerate goes from 60 to 30
     
  13. barefoot138

    barefoot138 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'm interested in overclocking my wii so that I can safely underclock it to save my giant battery that you can plug outlet plugs into's power if there is a power outage, and also use overclock to turn it back to the original speed.
     
  14. Anon10W1z

    Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    United States
    *sigh* another bump?
     
  15. Taleweaver

    Taleweaver Storywriter
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,600
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ok...either you're being funny, or you don't have an idea what you're talking about. But do you really have to dig up a thread from four years ago for that?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Overclocking, working, Anyone