Anyone know how to run apps on a ZTE Z232lt?

Zeldaplayer67

Antisocial behavior detected.
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
878
Country
United States
So i got one today its a basic flip phone. something that interests me is that its running a modified version of android so im wondering if it could be possible to run apks on it and if so could anybody do it?
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,339
Country
Italy
I assume it doesn't have the developer options (settings > about > keep clicking on the build version), right?

Is it even android? While googling about it (didn't even know ZTE was still around) I found some people confusing the Cymbal G (the model you're asking for, which runs some other Linux variant) with the Cymbal T (android)
 
Last edited by Ryccardo,

Zeldaplayer67

Antisocial behavior detected.
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
878
Country
United States
Well the menus look exactly like the menus of my zte obsidian so i assumed it was also an android.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

the app icons are copyrighted right? they look exactly the same.
 

Seriel

Doing her best
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
3,267
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
UK
XP
4,568
Country
United Kingdom
If it is running Android, it should say so and have a version string in the Settings somewhere. If it does, you should be able to enable Developer Mode and ADB somehow and then just `adb install` apks.
That said, I know nothing about this specific phone.
 

Seriel

Doing her best
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
3,267
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
UK
XP
4,568
Country
United Kingdom
the closest thing i could find was the word zdroid in the kernel.
Can you provide more information (Screenshots, photos, links..) because I can't find any information about your model on the internet, googling for it just comes up with this thread.
zdroid does however appear to be both android and ZTE related, so you may be onto something.
 

Seriel

Doing her best
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
3,267
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
UK
XP
4,568
Country
United Kingdom

Zeldaplayer67

Antisocial behavior detected.
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
878
Country
United States
More info
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20180525_185825.jpg
    IMG_20180525_185825.jpg
    83.5 KB · Views: 278

Seriel

Doing her best
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
3,267
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
UK
XP
4,568
Country
United Kingdom
Yup that is Android! Don't know which version, but I know android settings layout when I see it.
Is it possible to tap (Or select) the build number multiple times to enable Developer Mode?
Although apparently older versions of android have it under "Settings - Applications - Development" so maybe you could try that as well?
If you can enable USB Debugging, you can use that to sideload apks without needing a file manager and having to enable unknown sources and copy files and stuff, half of which wont be possible on a dumb phone I Imagine.
 

Zeldaplayer67

Antisocial behavior detected.
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
878
Country
United States
Closest i can get to dev mode. not actually dev mode but with a pc maybe you can update the phone to be compatible with downloaded apps.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

top option is to reboot btw
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20180525_190301.jpg
    IMG_20180525_190301.jpg
    120.1 KB · Views: 328

Seriel

Doing her best
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
3,267
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
UK
XP
4,568
Country
United Kingdom
Closest i can get to dev mode. not actually dev mode but with a pc maybe you can update the phone to be compatible with downloaded apps.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

top option is to reboot btw
That just confirms that it is Android, but it's not much use. Recovery mode != dev mode.
 

Zeldaplayer67

Antisocial behavior detected.
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2018
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Location
The Moon
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
878
Country
United States
That is about as much info as i can squeeze out.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i did.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Do you thing i can change the os to the cymbal t aka the app enabled version with the pc update feature?
 

doughmay

Huh. Time went by fast.
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
248
Trophies
0
Location
West Coast
XP
252
Country
United States
Hm. Depends if ZTE does release a new firmware for the device that is. But if it is an android it should be a
That is about as much info as i can squeeze out.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i did.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Do you thing i can change the os to the cymbal t aka the app enabled version with the pc update feature?
Probably not. Usually there are preventative measures in place for this.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: @Julie_Pilgrim and they don't wear out, so you never need to replace them, they don't take up...