Sephi

fool
Trophies
Website
nov.us.to
XP
Country
United States
I've been teaching myself C++ online, and honestly I haven't done much. I've gone through a bunch a tutorials but it'd be better to take classes and read books on it.

DeMoN

GBAtemp Guru
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Learning by yourself works too if you find a good book. Of course, the best way to learn is to write programs and have someone give you immediate feedback. Usually a parent who knows the language.

A great online book (it's actually a book, not a website) is this:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/beginner/cc305129.aspx

Downloadable in PDF format, And it's officially supported by Microsoft.

How long does it take? Depends how much you want to learn. Technically it could take forever. But usually two months to learn the ropes.

test84

GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
Trophies
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
Country
Iran
I'm a Software Engineer and hope theses lines help:

Try to learn programming in general, not a specific language, like how to solve a problem, how to break down a bigger problem into smaller sections and by solving them I'll be able to eventually solve the bigger problem.

I suggest learning a structure based language first that has high level of read/write -ability, like Pascal, then move on into learning Object Oriented Design and then to apply the concepts you've learned, learn C++ itself.

I find it so hard to learn a language by itself (I taught myself C++ but I learned Pascal at University) since you have to learn things that you have no idea what good are for but you just keep memorizing them.

I would suggest approach on making a program, like tell yourself I'm gonna make a program that gets a name and writes it after "Hello " + TheGivenName and then go find what tools/statements/syntax you need to do that so you'll see that you need some syntax for getting a text from user and will be much easier to learn.