Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tbgtbg

    tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Even if you could hack in an SD connector, you'd still be forced to run it in composite. I dunno what the hell Nintendo was thinking with this design. So bad you'd think Xbox One designers came up with it.
     
  2. FriskyDingo

    FriskyDingo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    You'd think with the console being out this long someone would have looked into hacking it or atleast taken a decent pic of the nand.
     
  3. FriskyDingo

    FriskyDingo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    The redesigned 360 slim is the opposite, hdmi only.
     
  4. DeadlyFoez

    OP DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,920
    Country:
    United States
    I am expecting one of these wii mini's from someone in the near future. Thank you everyone. Lets hope to get some shit to happen with these things and get homebrew running.
     
  5. VashTS

    VashTS Beat it, son
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Country:
    United States
    awesome foez, hope it goes well. good luck
     
  6. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,863
    Country:
    United States
    it includes a composite cable. you have to buy hdmi.
     
  7. FriskyDingo

    FriskyDingo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    I shouldnt have said slim i meant the newest one that styled after the xboxone.
     
  8. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,863
    Country:
    United States
    i know, there's no hdmi cable in the box.
     
    DevilKIN likes this.
  9. DevilKIN

    DevilKIN Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Yeah i recently got one a XBox slim... no hdmi cable

    I have a classic wii now... what to do with the wii not so mini?
     
  10. FriskyDingo

    FriskyDingo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    Wut? I was talking about the fact the new xbox360 styled after the xboxone only has a hdmi port, no composite/component video output.I wasnt talking about it not coming with an hdmi cable.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,863
    Country:
    United States
    The little round port is composite.

    Component wasn't all they removed. Less popular s-video, VGA, RGB SCART, and optical audio.
     
  12. FriskyDingo

    FriskyDingo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    seems youre right, the article i read said there was only hdmi.
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    OP DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,920
    Country:
    United States
    Great news!!! A wonderful person from Canada sent me a wii mini. I'm not sure if he wants to be publicly named, so I will let him say so if he wants.

    The good news is, there are test points on this board which normally would be the test points for the SD card on a normal wii. Most companies, for the sake of simplicity, will keep the same test point numbers going to the same components through the different revisions of a product line. So chances are, I should be able to just solder up to these test points and connect them to an SD card or adapter and have it work. The only shitty thing is that I don't have a retail copy of SSBB. Looks like I'll have to run to shitty gamestop sometime in the near future.

    I might just have to figure out how to rig my wode up to this thing to play SSBB since I really dont want to give any money to gamestop. :D
     
    Maxternal and FriskyDingo like this.
  14. DeadlyFoez

    OP DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,920
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. So my testing so far is that when I insert the SD card, absolutely no activity happens to it. That is probably bc they took out all of the code from the SM that has to do with the SD card. So I can't tell for sure if what I did was correct or not. I just need a game like SSBB or Excite Truck that does access the SD card. Of course SSBB would be the obvious choice.
     
  15. FriskyDingo

    FriskyDingo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    I think the nand will have to be flashed to get sd functionality back
     
  16. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,000
    Country:
    United States
    Does that mean my original launch system Wii is worth some money? The DVD drive still works too...
     
  17. rooskie54

    rooskie54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. Bootmii @ boot2 might be worth something to someone, and of course the gamecube support is nice, but it's still not worth more than $100. I've got a launch console with a working DVD drive too. And I wouldn't part with it even it's worth a few hundred.
     
  18. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,000
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, I love my launch Wii... I stood 8 hours in the rain for that thing. <3
     
    HNKii likes this.
  19. Xenirina

    Xenirina Scener
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Just grab one off eBay...
     
  20. DeadlyFoez

    OP DeadlyFoez XFlak Fanboy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,920
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. I will need to put on a normal SM on to it. But for me to do that I will likely also have to solder on the connector for the wifi card and then add the wifi card on it. But for me to even install the SM, I will need to get HB running, so I need a copy of SSBB first.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.