Anybody else encounter a problem running Mother 3 on their flash cart?

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by dib, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. dib
    OP

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted to add this here for the purposes of search and in case anybody else encounters this problem.

    I have an EZFA 256, which curiously had no trouble running Kingdom Hearts, Yggdra Union, or any other 32MB game until Mother 3.

    GBA Tool wouldn't trim it, nor the EZFA client's built-in auto trimmer. But it is evidently possible to remove approximately the last 256 bytes of the rom and it will still work. Open in a hex editor and find byte number 1FFFEFF with a value of 09. Remove everything _after_ that byte, save, and play.

    I've tested it under VBA as well as the hardware, and it works with both the untranslated and translated game.
     
  2. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, others have noticed this, too. According to sblur:

     
  3. dib
    OP

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    That's good to hear. I was trying to find solutions on the translation site, but their forums are useless. The search only reports errors and the topics are difficult to browse. Figured I would post something here about it just in case.

    By the way, the first time I attempted to manually trim, I left one extra FF byte attached to the end and it would not work on the hardware (still worked in VBA) so I think people should trim after the 09 value as I described for best results.
     
  4. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so on WHICH cards does the GAME WORK PROPERLY WITHOUT PROBLEMS?

    I'm getting ready to buy a Slot 2 for just this game and it'd be frustrating if I still couldn't play it...
     
  5. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    3-in-1 works
     
  6. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think the problem is with what loader you use, not the card itself, atleast with the ez 3-in-1

    i know i had to trim kingdom hearts chain of memories to get it to work on my acekard2 + ez 3-in-1.
     
  7. ZombiePosessor

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    No problems on my M3 Perfect. Only thing I had to do was the SRAM fix.
     
  8. saberhagem

    Member saberhagem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thanks for the tip [​IMG]
     
  9. Trilkin

    Newcomer Trilkin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    A Place.
    Country:
    United States
    Any card with a NorFlash should work.
     

Share This Page