Any way to softmod 2.1e with disc drive not working?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tomwalsh, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Can anyone help me out here, just got an old Wii and I want to softmod it. The problem I have is the disc drive is broken and it's on firmware 2.1e. I can't Bannerbomb it? I can update it to 4.3e through the wii but I then need Indy game to run the hack for softmod!!

    I think I'm screwed but I need confirmation from someone. The disc drive will still pull in the disc but it makes funny noises and I get the this disc cannot be read, blah blah blah

    Any help is appreciated.........
     
  2. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    well, only because your wii is old enough to have bootmii installed as boot2, you can use a nand programmer (ie. infectus) to flash bootmii @ boot2 onto your nand chip. And from there u will be able to install the homebrew channel, then u can softmod your Wii like any normal person would.

    btw, infectus nand programmers are hard to come by these days, and even less people know how to use them properly.

    The guru of infectus is deadlyfoez, you can email him at:
    deadlyfoez@yahoo.com

    I'm positive he will be able to get your wii softmodded without needing your disc drive, and it will probably only cost u around $40 for his time. But u could always try to fix/replace the disc drive yourself instead then softmod like normal, but I'm not sure how much that would cost or how hard it is to do.

    If its under warranty, u can always just send it to ninty to fix... but i doubt its under warrantly otherwise u probably woulda done that already.

    good luck!
     
  3. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks for the advise, I will look into this.
     
  4. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Try to clean the dvd drive and lay the wii flat on its side. You may want to consider fixing/replacing the drive because if its function continues to degrade you will have errors even after you softmod the wii.
     
  5. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You could host a private NUS-like environment on your PC and use the Wii's built in update feature. Set up the file structure (somewhere on wiibrew), host it on your webserver and toss in whatever SM/IOSes you want.

    Edit: also maybe Wode, Sunkey, or other drive replacement-type modchips
     
  6. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    Can you explain how this would cause errors? and will I need to open the wii up to clean?
     
  7. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Unless the drive is completely missing, there won't be any errors. It just won't read discs. If you plan to use a USB loader, fixing the drive is pointless. My friend has a wii with a dead DVD drive and it works fine with USB loader.

    As for cleaning it, Nintendo makes a cleaning kit for the drive. You could try that.
     
  8. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Replace drive, update trough Nintendo's server, use sticky guide.

    Pip'
     
  9. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    I thought banner bomb (the 4.0 version) worked fine on older versions of the system menu... At least on the 3.x firmwares...
     
  10. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Never tried it on 2.x, but BB v1 does work on 3.x.

    He probably should try it. There's nothing to lose here. Worst that can happen is his wii freezes when he goes into data management...
     
  11. tomwalsh
    OP

    Newcomer tomwalsh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Ireland
    I've tried all bannerbomb versions which resulted in a freeze. A friend asked me to softmod this for him. I'm aware now that I cannot bannerbomb with 2.1e firmware, I cannot update firmware through discs (obviously) and I cannot update through Nintendo server as I will then require a disc to softmod with firmware 4.3e = screwed, unless money is passed for either a new disc drive or a programmer to do it for me (infectus), so unless there is a cheap(free) way of updating it to 4.2e I think my friend has a nice brick at home, except for the Mii channel, that works fine [​IMG]
     
  12. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Do you have a Wii that you can swap the drives out of temporarily?
     

Share This Page