Any way to get DSTwo to display game names, not filenames?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by nemt, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    A few weeks ago I got fed up with Team Cyclops's lack of support so I got a DSTwo and I love it so far. The only issue I have is the games are all displayed as their filenames, instead of the actual name of the game like my CycloDS Evolution did. Is there any way to get it to pull the game name from the file and display that instead? It's kind of annoying not having them in title order and I don't really want to rename all the files (some of them have the rom id number first, some aren't even recognizable, etc).

    I'm using v1.10 of the firmware, just updated today. [​IMG]

    Sorry if this has been asked before, I searched and couldn't find it.
     


  2. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    100% sure it is not implemented. :<
    I would like to see this feature on the EOS though.
     
  3. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    IIRC it shows the game icon which you can normally recognise the game by.

    Selecting it shows the game name on top screen.
     
  4. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    It could be hex edited in I think.
    But probably not.
     
  5. AndroidDem0man

    Member AndroidDem0man GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    tc has actually been doing better now btw,

    and i dont think you can do what you want to do,

    But on the top screen, doesnt it say the game name and everything?
     
  6. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it says it on the top screen, but I wish the games were sorted by that, not the filename. I can always recognize them, it's just an organizational preference.

    Unrelated question: when I update the firmware, all I need to do is copy the new _dstwo folder over the old one, right? That's what I've been doing and it seems to work.
     
  7. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, that's correct.
     
  8. Shabutie78

    Member Shabutie78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    that's how you ugrade the kernel (EOS), not the firmware.
    to upgrade the firmware you copy ds2update.dat to the root of your micro SD card and start your DS2. it will prompt you for confirmation, and then upgrade the firmware.
     
  9. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    IMO, I think it's better to have both the filename and the game header shown.
    That's what is happening with the DSTwo.
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It technically slows the system down, the more files and folders you got, the longer it takes to recursively ID and display the name of the game. Because it requires an ID table that eats up memory resources that could have gone to the system loader. This was previously done before and considered to be in the end to be a failing of ANY flashcart, especially for any flashcart with minimal hardware.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    There's ROM managers you can get that will rename all your stuff... but they go by hashes so they don't detect trimmed/patched ROMs, a problem if you trim your collection.
     
  12. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Ah thanks for clearing that up. I didn't know there was a difference, I just went to the Supercard site and updated the firmware (fireware?) to v1.08 as well. I was relieved to see it went through without a hitch, my CycloDS always used to crash and then require a recovery to update.

    Could you explain the difference between the firmware and the eos? I checked through the faq and don't see it covered.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The EOS is the software you run on the cart. The Firmware is also referred to as the "bootloader", this controls how the cart presents itself to a 3/DS/i system (and updates to this let it boot on newer systems).
     
  14. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info! Does the Supercard team tend to releases updates for both in unison, or do they have their own development cycles? This is the first time I've updated either, when I got my card it came with beta 1.05 firmware, not sure which EOS it came with. Also, while everything works fine, ever since I updated the EOS the GUI seems to take a second or two longer to load after I select DS_GAME - the slot 1 image loads first, then the rest of the skin (just using the default silver).

    EDIT: and there's nothing else I need to be updating regularly for it, right? Not counting stuff like plugins and skins.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Updates to the firmware/bootloader are only released as needed (beta 1.05 is the second-most-recent, in fact, 1.08 being the one that adds 3DS compatibility). Updates to EOS are to fix game compatibility and features.

    And nope, that's basically it.
     
  16. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Well that's good to know. Any ideas on the GUI loading unevenly?
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    *shrug*

    Try deleting all the firmware files and replacing with clean ones.
     
  18. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Deleting the firmware files - or the EOS?

    I started after I updated the EOS.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    After the firmware update has been applied the file isn't used anymore (since the firmware is stored on the cart itself, not your microsd), I meant the EOS.
     
  20. nemt
    OP

    Newcomer nemt Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't the firmware update change stuff in the EOS? Like that System11 file or whatever?

    I'm also looking for a better skin, the default one kind of hurts my eyes. Any recommendations? Most of the previews are 404s for me for some reason.

    EDIT: and what's the deal with that ds2boot file separate from the _dstwo folder in the EOS update?
     

Share This Page