Any way to connect the Wii to my surround system?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Elrinth, Jun 23, 2010.

Jun 23, 2010
  1. Elrinth
    OP

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    My Surround system is a Sony DAV DZ680 http://www.sony.co.uk/product/hcs-surround...=TechnicalSpecs
    I've connected my PS3 to it via optical.

    Now the fat question, is there any way to connect my wii to it?
    I've connected my wii currently thru component cables into my LED-TV Samsung Series 6, 46".
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Normally there's an audio out on the TV, you just plug it into the AMP. It's why I do on mine.
     
  3. Elrinth
    OP

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes you're right. I just saw. I have Digital Audio Out (Optical) 1
    I can use that to play the sound of both wii and ps3 [​IMG]
    lol why didn't I connect it like that in the first place.. _doh_
     
  4. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Connect the red and white phono (right/left audio) from the component cable direct into the aux in phono sockets on your amp. If it uses 3.5mm stereo jack then get a twin phono to 3.5mm adaptor.*

    *[​IMG]

    Using the optical out on the tv can cause audio delay, and will degrade quality (which may not matter to you, but you'll want it sounding decent if you have a decent rig).
     
  5. Elrinth
    OP

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden

    thx for all answers... it was easily solved by connecting the optic from my tv to my surround system. [​IMG]
     
  6. jqwest

    Newcomer jqwest Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    the wii supports dolby pro logic 2 so you can just run the red and white audio straight into the reciever or pass through the tv......make sure you turn on dolby pro logic 2 decoding on inside your reciever or you wont be getting any surround sound....took me months to figure that last part out....now i got good surround for my wii
     

Share This Page