Any microSDHC card to work proper with Castlevania PoR?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by thomaslehner, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. thomaslehner
    OP

    Newcomer thomaslehner Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi,

    is there any microSDHC card that works fine with Castlevania Portraits of Ruin? Without freezing on teleporting!?

    Thank you in advance!

    Regards
    Thomas
     
  2. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The A-data 4 gig micro sdhc Class 6 cards should run fine. They're the fastest available, are they not?

    There's also the toshiba one, which I hear is also excellent.
     
  3. thomaslehner
    OP

    Newcomer thomaslehner Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    These are only your guesses, I think.
    Could anyone confirm this?!

    Btw. there is also a Sandisk Class 6 Ultra 8GB card.
    But I think it is not only the Class (Speed) of the card that affects the proper use of Castlevania PoR.

    Thomas
     
  4. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Kingston 4GB (Taiwan/Japan) Class 4 works perfectly.
     
  5. littlestevie

    Member littlestevie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    under a bridge
    Country:
    Australia
    Kingston JPN Class 4 works perfectly
     
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I think it also depends on what flash cart you're using.

    -Bri
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    It does, but the above mentioned microSDHC's should have almost no problems at all with PoR.
     
  8. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a CycloDS this is guaranteed to play without lag/freeze.
     
  9. SleepingDragon

    Member SleepingDragon GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    P3X-719
    Country:
    United States
    Sandisk 8GB microsdhc 6 works great with my Cyclo.
     
  10. littlestevie

    Member littlestevie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    under a bridge
    Country:
    Australia
    M3real and itouch DS with no problems with the above mentioned microSDHC
     
  11. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    From what I've heard there are a lot more trouble with Sandisk memorycards compared to Kingston and A-data memorycards. They just don't have the access-time that's needed.
     
  12. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    Then look around more. The 8GB Sandisk microSDHC has almost no problems running PoR, apparently it'll misbehave near the end, but that's it. Rnadom access time is a good indicator, but it's not absolute.

    Kingston 4GB Japan/Taiwan? class 4
    Toshiba 4GB (Japan only) class 4
    Adata 4GB (Taiwan) class 6
    Sandisk 8GB (china) class 4
     
  13. thomaslehner
    OP

    Newcomer thomaslehner Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    @littlestevie: To which microSDHC card did you refer?

    Thomas
     
  14. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    You bought one of the new ultras? nice - have you run any benchmarks on them? cf_bench hd_tach etc?
    wanted to see how they compared with the standard class 4 jobs.
    Hoping they are better and not just at the high end of a large scale.
    If you could post be great!

    If anyone has trouble on AK2 there is a beta loader which is supposed to eliminate lag in castlevania on all sd cards - just check forum for it.
     

Share This Page