Any homebrew supporting googletalk?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Coppanuva, Aug 4, 2008.

Aug 4, 2008
  1. Coppanuva
    OP

    Newcomer Coppanuva Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I use googletalk as a messenger for most of my friends, and I was wondering if there is a DS homebrew program supporting using it as a chat program.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,711
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am not aware of any clients in the same vein as beup and clirc but there is stuff like ebuddy and meebo that work with web browsers.
     
  3. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
    There's one that I think has GTalk. Jabber DS.
     
  4. Tapper

    Newcomer Tapper Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Google Talk is built on top of the Jabber protocol, so yeah, Jabber DS should work. Didn't seem very complete last time I tried it though.
     
  5. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Anyone tell me a step by step guide how to use Jabber DS? I think im doing this all wrong >__<

    Thanks
     
  6. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    ooooo i think imma try it out now but can you tellus how it works thanks
     
  7. theli

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    step-by-step(almost) guide for JabberDS + GTalk:
    download
    http://theli.ho.com.ua/JabberDS/JabberDS-0.3.Neoflash.tar.gz
    unpack onto root of your flashcard...
    you can remove Changelog file and also data/top.png+data/bottom.png (this will remove neoflash splash at startup)
    dldi-patch JabberDS.nds if your card do not offer autopatching
    you can move JabberDS.nds wherever you like but leave data directory in root of flashcard
    open data/jabberds.xml with some editor which will open it correctly (not windows' notepad)
    if you want you can backup jabberds.xml for reference .. .and just fill it with this data:

    CODE






    save data/jabberds.xml
    put flashcard into your DS
    start DS
    launch JabberDS.nds
    click on 'unavailable' button and change to 'available'
    wait for it to connect
    post your results/errors here
    and that's it. it should work that way.

    ps: you can actually create jabberds.xml with notepad... just remove all linebreaks... so that file will look like one long single line
     
  8. cas2007

    Newcomer cas2007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Ireland
    or use irc and use the server bitlbee to connect to you msn, gtalk, aol ect... contacts at the same time
     
  9. theli

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    i'm using jabber and all other IM-services i use at the same time [​IMG]
     
  10. FireFreek

    Member FireFreek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    I think you should put this in your JabberDS page.
     
  11. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    alrite so i put in all my info w/ my nick, gmail, and pass
    but when i load up it still says that something isnt right and server not connected.
    this is really confusing
    can anyone help me
    thanks

    edit:got it working forgot to click available lol
     
  12. Draco-LVNH

    Newcomer Draco-LVNH Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hey, i'm trying to do that but i just can't, my account is in a server called jabber-hispano.org and i can't login, i think i need to provide a key and certificade to be able to login but i do not know exactly what should i do
     

Share This Page