Any games that won't work with soft reset...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Rayder, May 27, 2007.

May 27, 2007
  1. Rayder
    OP

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It seems I remember hearing that soft reset had issues with some games a few FW updates ago. I haven't encountered any games that fail to boot when using soft reset myself.

    What games , if any, don't work with soft reset on the R4? I'm just curious.
     
  2. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    I remember hearing something like that, but it wasn’t that the games didn’t
    work if Soft-reset was on. Just that Soft-reset didn’t work on some games.
    But I myself have never ran into any games having problems with Soft-reset.
     
  3. flanker22

    Newcomer flanker22 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    its happened to me i think once or twice no game in particular.
     
  4. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Haven't had any problems with games failing to boot due to soft reset. But the ds browser fails to soft reset about 40% of the times I use it (from the version soft reset got introduced).
    That's the only problem i've had with the soft reset feature.
     
  5. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    no problems with any games i played...
    but i havent tried the ds browser ...
     
  6. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It always works for me. Even with the hacked browser and trimmed roms.
     
  7. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I don't recall any games where it doesn't work

    but it doesn't work on any homebrew as far as I know
     
  8. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    I had it mess up with lost in blue, would reset to the menu, but when re-selecting the game, there would just be white screens, using 1.6 firmware (one before the theme switching firmware)
     
  9. bennydigital

    Member bennydigital GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Country:
    United States
    reboot is so quick who needs soft reset. [​IMG]
     
  10. wepoo

    Newcomer wepoo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia

    Yeah, I find it odd to think people use soft reset. Pressing all those buttons at once is just much more complex than giving the power switch a flick with you index finger.
     
  11. Rayder
    OP

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm inclined to agree, but I was just asking because I also have a slot2 SC and you can select the next page of a game listing with the R button, so sometimes I goof and hit it without realizing it on the R4.

    So....it doesn't matter if I leave it on or not. Good to know.
     
  12. xiang123

    Newcomer xiang123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    i think softreset is more power friendly.. since it doesn't has to boot up the system again.. (even when it only take 2-3 seconds)..the processor is under more load,if you turn it off and on...
     
  13. cheeo

    Newcomer cheeo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Soft reset is awesome! I wouldn’t buy a card that didn’t have it. I don’t have much time
    to play with my DS & the less time I spend with the OS the better. I loved the SC’s fast
    OS & the R4 is doing everything right as far as speed & ease of use. God I hated the slow
    clunky M3 OS.
     

Share This Page