Any definitive way to test if you have a media or a firmeware problem?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by brandon199019, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. brandon199019
    OP

    Newcomer brandon199019 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Canada
    I was just wondering, for people who are trying to soft-mod their Wiis, is there any way of being able to tell whether you've incorrectly installed something (such as cIOS or the WADs) during the setup process, or if you simply have bad media (bad DVDs, bad burns)?

    Would you be able to run a normal retail Wii game through the backup launcher to test this?
    Are there any other ways?
     
  2. syst3merror

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    not sure, but do you realize that with the price of dvds, even if you did waste a dozen, you'd be out like what....$2? lmao
     
  3. brandon199019
    OP

    Newcomer brandon199019 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Canada
    True, but it's more or less to save wasting time. I just wanted a way to figure out if I'm getting bad burns, or if I need to reinstall some WADs or something
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Use Any Title Deleter to check if you have IOS249 (and IOS232 if you are using SoftChip with RockBand), then check with ImgBurn the Disc ID of your media and compare it to Da List if you're using 1st class media burn at 16X, if 2nd class at half the speed (8X) if stil gettin' an error, then you should check yourself out, talk to your doctor, he'll know what to do....!!!! :]
     

Share This Page