1. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    Hi!

    So i got hacked Old 3DS model.
    I want to play Genesis/Mega Drive 2 Sonic games on it.
    I tried some emulators but none of them ran smoothly.

    So as the title said, Is there ANY way to run Genesis games SMOOOOOTHLY (that means 60FPS) on Old 3DS?

    If you have any ideas, please post them here.

    Thanks for your reply~
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Jul 7, 2020
    tfocosta likes this.
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847
    Country:
    United States
    What is a mega drive 2?
     
  3. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Jul 7, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847
    Country:
    United States
  5. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    No such thing what?

    Do you know any emulator or not?
    If not, please don't clutter with off-topic comments or trolling.
    You know what my question was, so please...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Jul 7, 2020
  6. AlexeySinitsyn

    AlexeySinitsyn Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Picodrive for 3DS
     
    tfocosta likes this.
  7. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847
    Country:
    United States
    That's like calling the O3DSXL the O3DSXL2
     
    AmandaRose likes this.
  8. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847
    Country:
    United States
  9. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    Please don't make a philosophy out of obvious.
    That's how the console is called "SEGA megadrive 2".
    If you don't have anything to add to topic and troll me, than i'm gonna stop responding now.

    (You know perfectly well what i meant.)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Thank you for responding to topic.

    I tried that one, its not very good for me. How does it run on your O3DS?
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Jul 7, 2020
  10. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,199
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The sega Megadrive 2 is exactly the same as the Megadrive 1. Just the case was changed so any emulator that plays Megadrive games will work.
     
    Moon164 and peteruk like this.
  11. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    I tried it, but it stutters and not really a smooth experience. How about on your O3DS?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    The question was is there any good working emulator for O3DS, not about how console is called. If its easier, call it Genesis if you like. The point is still the same.
     
  12. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,199
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have tried about 30 games using Pico on my original 3ds it with zero stuttering

    Plus you asked for an emulator for the megadrive II when you should have just said you needed a Megadrive emulator.
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Jul 7, 2020
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  13. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    Ok so its working smoothly for you...interesting.

    Can you please tell me your settings for that emulator, what version it is, if you made an injects or use installed stand alone emulator and what region your roms are?

    'Cause for me it's not really a smooth experience, which means something is not right, if it works smoothly on your Old 3DS...
    Also are you sure you're not using NEW 3DS? Cause that thing has better CPU than old 3DS...
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, Jul 7, 2020
  14. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,199
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes its an original 3ds it was brought on the very first day the 3ds went on sale.

    Latest version of pico is being used. Roms are a mixture of Pal and USA

    Settings

    Screen Stretch Fullscreen
    Font Tempesta
    Hide text in bottom screen is ticked
    Auto save state is unticked

    Frameskip enable max 1 frame
    Region default
    Framerate default based on game
    Low pass filter ticked

    Apply volume on all games unticked
    Volume amplification middle.


    Games tried in emulator

    Gauntlet
    James Pond
    James Pond 2
    James Pond 3
    Paperboy
    Speed Ball 2
    Street Fighter 2 Champ Edition prototype
    Xeno Crisis

    Games tried from Channel.

    Sonic 1
    Sonic 2
    Sonic 3
    Sonic and Knuckles
    Sonic and Knuckles with Sonic 1
    Sonic and Knuckles with Sonic 2
    Sonic and Knuckles with Sonic 3
    Sonic 3d Blast
    Phantasy Star
    Phantasy Star 2
    Phantasy Star 3
    Phantasy Star 4
    Pier Solar And The Great Architecs
    Castlevania Bloodlines
    Wonder Boy In Monster World
    Monster World IV
    Desert Strike
    Jungle Strike
    Urban Strike
    Toy Story
    Comix Zone
    Mega Bomberman
    Ghouls And Ghosts


    Every one of them runs perfectly
     
    Tarmfot and MetoMeto like this.
  15. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    Oh great! They do run great! Not perfect but 98% perfect, yes.
    Thanks a lot! :)

    "Frameskip enable max 1 frame" is emulator skipping 1 frame when needed or all the time...i dont see its all the time cause sometimes when stutters for a moment it skips...
     
  16. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Argentina
    There is no such thing as megadrive 2 and picodrive for 3DS works perfectly.
    I'm sure there's a lot of threads adressing the best emulators for both O3DS and N3DS already, and there's no reason for the emulator to work less smoothly on your O3DS than any of ours. So either you're overly OCD about smoothness, or your 3DS is fucked, which i think you would've noticed when playing other games
     
  17. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,199
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Jul 8, 2020
    MetoMeto likes this.
  18. Shadow#1
    This message by Shadow#1 has been removed from public view by VinsCool, Jul 8, 2020, Reason: Offtopic bickering.
    Jul 8, 2020
  19. AmandaRose
    This message by AmandaRose has been removed from public view by VinsCool, Jul 8, 2020, Reason: Offtopic bickering.
    Jul 8, 2020
  20. lisreal2401

    lisreal2401 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Country:
    United States
    Genesis 2/Mega Drive 2 is fine

    How the console is referred to as to denote it from the first model

    But in general of course you wouldn't refer to it as such for emulation unless talking sound
     
  21. Shadow#1
    This message by Shadow#1 has been removed from public view by VinsCool, Jul 8, 2020, Reason: Offtopic bickering.
    Jul 8, 2020
  22. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,199
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well @Shadow answer this the mega drive 2 had stereo sound which some later games then took advantage of. The original mega drive 1 only had mono sound. What emulators actually output the sound correctly in stereo and not in mono??
     
  23. Arcade2019
    This message by Arcade2019 has been removed from public view by VinsCool, Jul 8, 2020, Reason: Offtopic bickering.
    Jul 8, 2020
  24. lone_wolf323
    This message by lone_wolf323 has been removed from public view by VinsCool, Jul 8, 2020, Reason: Offtopic bickering.
    Jul 8, 2020
  25. AmandaRose
    This message by AmandaRose has been removed from public view by VinsCool, Jul 8, 2020.
    Jul 8, 2020
  26. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,847
    Country:
    United States
    Again mute point u forget this thread is about genesis emus for 3ds
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, Genesis, decent