Anti R4DS Feature in Game ?????

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by nheather, Aug 29, 2007.

Aug 29, 2007
  1. nheather
    OP

    Newcomer nheather Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have Brother in Arms DS so I thought I'd get hold of the ROM and put it on my R4DS cartridge.

    The game plays fine until the last mission in the Normanday campaign.

    I have just shot the armoured car/jeep from a tower and then I have to move back to ground.

    My sergeant tells me to switch to the machine gun and run. But as I follow him I blow up as if I have stepped on a mine.

    It isn't a minefield and I've tried just about everything but everytime I reach a certain point I blow up.

    I tried a couple of different versions of the ROM (both European and US) and they all do the same.

    Was wondering whether this is some sort of anti-R4DS coding - it somehow detects it is running from a memory card and my man blows up.

    Anyone else seen this, know what it is or got past this point?

    Thanks,

    Nigel
     
  2. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    that doesnt happen to me, maybe its your R4 or Micro SD, what micro sd do you have? and what FW are you using?

    oh ya, and i dont think your doing the level right..
     
  3. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, you're just doing the level wrong XD
     
  4. Canadacdn

    Member Canadacdn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure you are following the objectives, you sometimes die if you run off from them.
     
  5. Freaker

    Newcomer Freaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    I never had that problem. If it really were a way of preventing piracy/flash-cart use I'd say it'd be pretty damn clever. In reality, if the game code could tell, they'd probably not let you play the game at all [​IMG]
     
  6. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol, in my head this question sounds so stupid XD

    but yeah i think ur just doing the level wrong, i think if they were gonna make a code to stop flashcarts working then they'd do it for all of them, not just the R4
     
  7. ediblebird

    Member ediblebird GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Country:
    Australia
    that is usually the case. a couple of time i went for a roam and i just got blown up. Also there could be a tank that you are not seeing, but if its in the same spot i think your going the wrong way
     
  8. joemommasfat

    Newcomer joemommasfat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    And does this happen on your original cartridge?? That's an easy way to answer your question.
     
  9. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that is one big LOL. but still its a great question.
     
  10. KarmaUK

    Member KarmaUK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Heh, I think anti-piracy would stop you from loading the game, rather than let you get to the last level and stick a random land mine up your rear...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. nheather
    OP

    Newcomer nheather Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last night I played the game on the original cartridge and it does exactly the same thing.

    So that rules out an anti-piracy feature so I figure I must be missing something somewhere.

    Pretty sure I am going the right way.

    I've blown up the German Jeep blocking the tram and the waypoint then changes to the ground. When I reach it the sergeant tells me the swap to the machine gun and go. The only possible route I can see is to follow him but I blow up.

    So I must be missing an objective somewhere along the way.

    Might agree with you but a couple of points

    (i) Many years ago, if you ran a copy of Falcon on the Amiga, then all would appear fine but your F16 would explode when you reached a certain altitude

    (ii) Perhaps if you let a player get so far through a game that they became hooked before revealing the anti-piracy feature then maybe there is more chance that he would go out and buy the original.

    But in this case it obviously isn't a piracy thing.

    I'll try again tonight.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  12. nheather
    OP

    Newcomer nheather Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doh!

    Worked it out.

    At the top of the tower there is a jeep blocking the tram to destroy but also a half track which I was missing.

    As soon as I destroyed that I could continue without blowing up.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  13. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, can we either get this locked or get back onto the R4DS topic?
     
  14. AStar

    Newcomer AStar Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    its actually not that far off to think they would implement a feature this bizarre.
    in earthbound, the game would freeze at the very last boss and then erase your saves if it detected it was a pirated copy.
     
  15. KarmaUK

    Member KarmaUK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's harsh, heh...

    I have aquired one game atleast which filled a DVD and ended up being a demo released by the dev onto the scene, and 70% of the data being garbage... [​IMG]

    (Guess it's easy come, easy go... [​IMG])
     
  16. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    That post was not necessary. Make sure you don't create stupid topics that should've been locked from the beginning before you say something stupid like this. Thank you.

    PS: Can somebody really just ban him for a while?
     

Share This Page