another semi brick.. is this the right way to fix it..

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by joe90, May 20, 2009.

  1. joe90
    OP

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    3.4E pal
    bootmii and installed HBC
    installed ios16
    installed cIOSv5 with wadmanger_fix
    installed the IOS downgrader
    installed BootMii (works)
    installed CIOSv10
    installed GekoOS

    Installed preloader.029
    Now it cannot load the sysmenu

    I can get into preloader and run HBC.

    So I installed ios60 then.. tryed to run the Wanko 4.0 updated but get a 'downloadiing content... -1' error?
    Shall i try running the IOS downgrader again? or what the best way to recover..

    is the -1 becuase the site is down or another issue?

    /edit oh i get a -1 on the IOS downgrader too.. hmmm im guessing this is because the wireless settings are not corrupt etc.

    is this becuase i installed bootmii before preloader?

    Do I need a 3.4E sysmenu wad file? Can i jsut rip this from a game disk..

    Cheers
     
  2. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    I'd try reinstalling preloader, maybe it failed to patch IOS60 or you installed something that overwrote IOS60 and removed the patch.

    EDIT:
    Nevermind, you're not on 4.0

    Try running the firmware updater again.
    Maybe Nintendo's servers were just down or something

    If that doesn't work, maybe you'll have better luck with CIOS Rev 09 or earlier
     
  3. joe90
    OP

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    why would a cios early version help?


    its actually downloads some files and then stops with the error (doint the 4.0 update) is there a offline wanko updater?

    im guessing preloader and 3.4 don't get on very well.
     
  4. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    You can update with wads

    For 4.0, install:
    BC v5
    MIOS v9
    IOS60
    System Menu 4.0 (Make sure you get the correct wad for your region)

    You can either find the wads with google or download them with NUSD:
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/NUS_Downloader
     
  5. Soplox

    Banned Soplox Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    use anyregion changer
     
  6. joe90
    OP

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    How will that work? just change it to pal (which it is) ?
     
  7. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You say you installed BootMii. Didn't you backup your Nand ?
     
  8. Soplox

    Banned Soplox Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    It will install in your wii a new system menu

    http://wiibrew.org/w/images/d/db/AnyRegion_Changer.zip

    say no to the korean stuff and yes to the hacks
     
  9. joe90
    OP

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Nope. that was the last step we were going to do.. how would that of helps in this situation?
     
  10. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you had made a backup on forehand, you could have easily restored it.
     
  11. joe90
    OP

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    but the nand is not borked, its the ios? is the nand not the 'flash memory' ahh i guess where ALL the files ios's are stored.. gotcha, Its a snapshot off the wii memory?
     
  12. joe90
    OP

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Fixed.. Ran the 4.0 updater a few times.. it eventually worked. and now all fine again. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page