another noob question :(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tdlo123, Aug 6, 2008.

Aug 6, 2008

another noob question :( by tdlo123 at 8:36 PM (748 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. tdlo123
    OP

    Member tdlo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    palestine
    Country:
    Israel
    hello!

    I wanted to ask how to connect the wii to the internet? can I just use a dsl modem directly?

    *main question*, I read that to connect to the internet for the first time, would the update(if there is one) harm my wii?

    Thanks.
     
  2. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    1. yes. my modem sucks with wi-fi so i cant connect mine, but homebrew kicks so much ass i just dont care [​IMG]
    2. no.
     
  3. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It will ask for an update, yes, but you can decline it if you don't want it. If you use Datel's Freeloader or Action Replay, or you have a drive chip and you modify the game (Trucha Sign it) then you want to decline. If you don't have or use any of the stated, then you can update fine. If you ever want to move down (3.3E/U/J to 3.2E/U/J) then you could always use the downgrader that there is a thread about on this forum, but there's really no need to.
     
  4. tdlo123
    OP

    Member tdlo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    palestine
    Country:
    Israel

    but will I need to update it later?

    just wondering
     
  5. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Not unless you want to. You can always remove any updates from games before you run them on your Wii.

    Also, there's always the option to downgrade at any time.
     
  6. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. But, maybe if you want to play Animal Crossing, I think there may be and update before its release to 'get it ready' for WiiSpeak. It mught be on the disc, but new hardware=new update. New update=something else could be blocked...
     
  7. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How is it not recommended? it is safer and faster than Wi-Fi
     
  8. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not recommended for him since he has a modem, not a router. I have one, but the Ethernet cable is being used to connect the router to the computer...
     
  9. tdlo123
    OP

    Member tdlo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    palestine
    Country:
    Israel
    so I can use a DSL modem+ wireless router and It's done?

    or can I just do this? (It might be stupid)

    connect my laptop to a wireless network and, then connect the DSL modem to the wii and then the line to the laptop?

    probably not...

    and what is SSID?!
     

Share This Page