Another new Wii Update ??

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by panteracfh, Aug 14, 2007.

Aug 14, 2007

Another new Wii Update ?? by panteracfh at 3:33 AM (5,164 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. panteracfh
    OP

    Newcomer panteracfh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Gday,

    Just walked in the door and the Wii was flashing blue and beeping at me.
    I have done the 3.0E update, and using a Genuine WiiKey here.

    This new message from Nintendo says:

    ----------------------------------------------
    A new update for you Wii console
    is available!
    This update will prevent your Wii
    console from locking up, which can
    occur when using the Internet
    Channel if you press RESET on
    either your Wii console or the
    HOME Menu. This update also
    corrects some Internet connection
    stability issues when using the Wii
    LAN adapter from Nintendo.
    Please press the "Update" button on
    the bottom-right to update your Wii
    console.
    --Nintendo
    ----------------------------------------------

    I am in Australia.

    Anyone else with a WiiKey know if this update is safe to install ?

    Couldn't find any other posts regarding this, sorry if it has already been posted before.

    Cheers

    UPDATE: Did the update, as a few have suggested, Wii backups, GameCube backups and updated GCOS WiiKey 1.2 Setup DVD all still work fine =]
     


  2. KakTheInfected

    Newcomer KakTheInfected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Not gonna bother installing it since it doesn't seem to do anything useful (unless you have a LAN adapter).
     
  3. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    It's safe on a NTSC-U Wii.(mine anyway)
     
  4. dcramps

    Newcomer dcramps Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Just got it myself, not sure if I'll bother installing it. Don't use the LAN adapter or the Internet Channel.

    If I do, I'll be waiting to see if it causes any problems with WiiKeys, etc.
     
  5. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    Forgot to mention everything works fine. The firmware version hasn't even changed. Using a Wiikey also.

    I was actually going to make a topic but I guess I got beat to it.
     
  6. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Haha. I read this thread, left for seriously 10 seconds, and them BAM my Wii's blue light popped on.

    These updates are getting a little out of hand. They're making me a little bit nervous. But safe on ntsc, you say? Time to download!
     
  7. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    As the update says, it's just a bug fix. Console didn't brick. Gamecube and Wii backups still work.
     
  8. n13astra

    Newcomer n13astra Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Congratulations!!!

    If an exploit was even possible from this crash, you've just closed the door on it.

    DON'T UPDATE unless IT IS ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY, DEFINITELY, CERTIANLY, ETC.. necessary.
     
  9. Da Foxx

    Member Da Foxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Canada
    Can anyone check if USB keyboards work with the internet channel? [​IMG]

    I'm updating right now.. So i'll tell you how it goes with Canadian Wii with a Wiikey.

    Edit: Everything seems to work fine.
     
  10. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Pshaw. Like that'll really make a difference if you already have a chip to play burnt games. The only homebrew that'd come out with an exploit like that would be HELLO WORLD, and maybe a crappy version of Tetris. Neat, but really not worth the wait.
     
  11. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Updating now. Wiikey + US Wii. Got the blue light so figured: what the hell, might as well do it anyways. I doubt in one week they could suddenly brick modchips so i find it safe. Wii Backups still work so I'm happy.
    EDIT: It's just a bugfix, still reports as FW Version 3.0U
     
  12. panteracfh
    OP

    Newcomer panteracfh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Just tested my USB keyboard, NOT working in Internet channel.

    Keyboard still works writing messages etc.
     
  13. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry, I didn't think this bug screamed exploit. I'm willing to wait for quite a while with the type of exploits found on the PSP, but not something that people don't even speculate to be the door to some exploit. Especially with the many great games releasing by the end of the year which may require an update.

    I still doubt if they can actually brick Wii's though. They were able to block discs made in a certain format so I guess it could be possible.
     
  14. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    At the best it would be a way to install custom firmware, but that would take million years to do anyway. Like that would happen.

    And still i don't think that they will brick your wii with an update. All modchips are driverchips and nintendo can't change the driver firmware afaik.
     
  15. Remy669

    Member Remy669 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah i have that too, i can't sleep with the thought that my Wii won't work the next day or something like that [​IMG] Because i just don't have the money to buy a new one... [​IMG]
     
  16. mosca.br

    Newcomer mosca.br Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    For the description of the crash in the message, I doubt this crash is exploitable, since there is no way you can add a usefull payload by interacting with the wiimote. [​IMG] But they might have fixed the .flv crash, wich might be exploitable.

    I'd say that maybe, backing up the internet channel is enough to have an exploitable internet channel again, after the update.
     
  17. Talvon

    Newcomer Talvon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does this fix the news channel and everybody votes too? I haven't got the light yet and both those channels are broke, though the browser works fine
     
  18. mcj

    Member mcj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States

    Not every "bug" = exploit. I've been lurking on this, and other forums, for awhile. Why does everyone think a bug in the software allows you to "inject code to overflow the buffer which will allow you to run homebrew and whatever else"? Do the majority of you even know what that means?

    After all the progress that has been made in mod'ing consoles you'd think the lot of you would know better.

    And why all the damn caps? So annoying ...
     
  19. Chopders

    Member Chopders GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    In babylon
    Country:
    Canada
    THE BIGGEST WTF EVER [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I read some post here, so I have decided to update my Wii (Canadien Wii with WiiFree).

    The update was finish, all was normal, exept ONE thing, I CAN'T READ ANYMORE MY BACKUPS GAMECUBE AND WII. [​IMG]

    I did the update before (with all the stuff, clock and everything) and now, with the stupide inthernet channel, I can't play anymore with my games . [​IMG]


    Anyone can help me plz. I NEED HELP. :'(

    Edit: [​IMG]
     
  20. ssj4android

    Member ssj4android GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    My Wii has frozen a bit at the black screen before loading the menu since the last update. Should be I be concerned? I didn't install this one yet.
     

Share This Page