another n00b question, if you'll bare with me.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by steve0_7269, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. steve0_7269
    OP

    Newcomer steve0_7269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    so, i don't know much about bootmii, except that its main function is to restore a bricked wii. though i'm probably wrong about even that.
    ANYWAY, i made the backup of the NAND or whatever the heck. i dont know what any of these terms mean. all i know is i see people saying that i have to have "bootmii as boot2" for any hope of getting back from a bricked wii. how do i know that bootmii replaced boot2?

    thanks in advance.

    p.s., my wii is not bricked, but i have a feeling that it will be someday with my mindless screwing around with it. so i'm just being cautious.
     
  2. viiral

    Newcomer viiral Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Norway
    If your wii is old, you can install BootMii as boot2 (starts first when you start your wii,
    If your wii is new you can only install BootMii as a IOS (start from hbc or priiloader)

    If you can't install BootMii as boot2 you can install priiloader so you can boot bootmii from the priiloader menu before the wii system boots up.
     
  3. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
  4. ZonMachi

    Member ZonMachi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    as viiral said,
    If BootMii loads off your SD Card when you boot up the Wii then you have boot2. If not then it's IOS BootMii.
     
  5. steve0_7269
    OP

    Newcomer steve0_7269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Ahh okay I understand. But for some reason the system menu appears, and i only see bootmii when i go to it in the homebrew channel.
    I have an old wii, actually bought on the day of release... i just made a backup a couple of days ago... what am i doing wrong that the bootmii doesn't show up when i turn on the system?
     
  6. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    did you install it as boot2 through the hackmii installer?

    do you still have the bootmii files that it created when installing it as boot2 on your sd card still?

    are you using a compatible sd card?
     

Share This Page