Another Is My Wii Bricked Thread?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lettuce, Oct 3, 2009.

Oct 3, 2009
  1. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, was on 3.1E wii with wiikey installed, updated to 4.2 fine, but then found out that NTSC games didnt load anymore, so i dedcided to down grade to 4.1, used the cIOS downgrader to get back to 3.1E which it did fine, then used Waninkok's 4.1 upgrader to get to 4.1, this said it installed fine. But when i restarted my Wii, i got nothing but a black screen, with the no signal displayed on the screen! Is it bricked?
     


  2. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's bricked.

    When you downgraded to 4.1 from 4.2, did the 4.1 menu work after that initial downgrade? I'll bet you didn't check it, or you probably would have found the answer is no.

    Do you have bootmii?
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's probably using the stubbed IOS60 off the 4.2 update if you don't have bootmii then i think your wii is screwed
     
  4. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i did have the bootmii file so where, but i cant friging find, i better have not deleted it, Fudge! On to ebau to get a cheap one then. Can any Wii be soft modded now, even the latest versions?? And what would i lose form a Wiikey'd Wii to a softmodded one??
     
  5. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I cant for the life of me find the nand.bin file, now i know i defo backed the nand up aswell, i cant beleive this!! I take it you cannot use a nand file from another Wii can you?, as my bro has a Wii that we both bought at the same time, so they be the same revision number?? I guess i have nothing to lose in try it do i? i mean theres no other way to get back to the system menu is there in this case, if im just getting a black screen when turning the Wii on???
     
  6. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    You can convert a NAND from another Wii if you have your HMAC and the NAND key.

    Then u can use Beetwiin to convert the NAND, but without the keys there is no way to use another NAND.
     
  7. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn, i have like 4 SD cards here, and i think i must of formatted the wrong card, the card with bootmii on thus losing at the info. Is there anyway i can get files back from a formated SD card??
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Normally its impossible
    Probably depends on how hard the formal was (fast or normal)
     
  9. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    fast i think, so what files am i actually looking for, keys.txt??, as i have a program called 'Recover My Files'
     
  10. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or is it keys.bin??
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    can't you just recover everything you can?
    so we know what you have
     
  12. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i need to know what files to look out for, nand.bin, keys.txt or bin (which is it) any other files i need??
     
  13. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So theres no other way of getting this back, if i get a green light on bootup but just a black screen??
     
  14. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, if i have the bootmii folder on my SD card i can get into the Homebrew channel, can i not just sort my Brick out from loading an app from the homebrew channel?
     
  15. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    try using dop-ios to install an old version of IOS60 cause it was stubbed on 4.2 and system menu 4.0 and 4.1 use IOS60 for to work properly
     
  16. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how many version of iso60 will dop-iso list then??, and which 1 to select?? I cannot get my wiimote to sync with my wii so am using my GC pad, what what button on the GC pad refers to '-' & '+' from the wiimote?
     
  17. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Try the dop-ios MODv6 http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/Dop-IOS_MOD it has gamecube pad support or you could try downloading it with NUSD and installing it with a wadmanager with gamecube pad support i think it's version 6174 is the good one and 6400 is the stubbed one
     
  18. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which i iso do i need to use for loading other iso, in dop-iso, iso60?? As i selected ISO60 to use, and it just stayed at the loading select ISO's screen!?
     
  19. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    use IOS250 if you've got one cause it's a Backup of CIOS249
     
  20. lettuce
    OP

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah used NUSD and downloaded ISO60 version 6174 and installed using wadmanger, as u suggested tom, all working now [​IMG] , thank god for that. So why did ISO60 bork my Wii then?
     

Share This Page