Annoying Issue With PS5

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
is there anyway to prevent this menu from appearing when coming back from rest mode in game? it's annoying as hell to have to exit the menu every time:

20211202_152335.jpg
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
I don't think it's possible after checking. It's the menu that appears just by pressing the ps button at any time. It's just very cluttered. The switch way is better, but the ps4 does rest/sleep mode the best.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,617
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,074
Country
France
long pressing while playing would exit to the main menu, and then he will have to short press PS button to shutdown the console.
but on wake up, he will be on the menu, not in the game. he will have to "launch the game" to resume it. instead of exiting the menu, you have to run the game.
it's still one button away to play the game, but maybe less ugly to the eyes ?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
that's my main issue with the ps5 is that it's just so damn cluttered with unnecessary shit. they did make fewer options in system settings, but on the home menu, you might have a lot of things going especially when you simply press the ps button. it's kinda more of a pita to enter rest mode than the ps4 as well (have to see that cluttered menu).
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
btw, I forgot to mention, but I'm in the middle of going through tales of arise, and it has another annoying thing where you have to click "resume" in the field to continue the game, coming back from rest mode. that's just another unnecessary button press.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
5,136
Trophies
3
XP
8,002
Country
United Kingdom
that's my main issue with the ps5 is that it's just so damn cluttered with unnecessary shit. they did make fewer options in system settings, but on the home menu, you might have a lot of things going especially when you simply press the ps button. it's kinda more of a pita to enter rest mode than the ps4 as well (have to see that cluttered menu).
You can customise that menu and remove all the stuff you don't need. Press the option button I think.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
You can customise that menu and remove all the stuff you don't need. Press the option button I think.
there are three categories not in the menu by default. however, my main issue is the news, video clip, etc. thing. I can deal with it reminding you what to do, but I don't need news or videos on the game. the tiles are larger than the game tiles on the main menu. I mean look at that shit!
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
@subcon959 , what it really comes down to is that I wish you could just get into the game with the ps button, then you're able to push it a second time to see that information. ratchet and clank has a lot of those tiles, and I think they're trophies or percentages complete or something. it's hard to tell without an instruction manual, damn I miss those!
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,617
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,074
Country
France
I agree with you, I don't understand their idea for this menu/UI layout, enormous tiles above everything. It feels like they don't even use their own product, they don't see the issues! aren't there any beta testers reporting this ? don't they have professional UI engineers with diploma ?
And useful settings now hidden in console settings instead of overlay menu...
I wish there were a setting to move/delete/edit elements, and another option to choose different layouts (for example a PS4 layout !).

I also don't like being stuck with 8 games only at the top :(
PS4 had folders and more elements.... why limit it to 8 ? what if I want 50 ?? my choice !
(and after 1 year, they still haven't fixed the game disappearance in the library, I have games missing I can't launch anymore! let me be beta testers, I would REPORT issues to be fixed)
 
Last edited by Cyan,

D34DL1N3R

Nephilim
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
3,670
Trophies
1
XP
3,208
Country
United States
I agree with you, I don't understand their idea for this menu/UI layout, enormous tiles above everything. It feels like they don't even use their own product, they don't see the issues! aren't there any beta testers reporting this ? don't they have professional UI engineers with diploma ?
And useful settings now hidden in console settings instead of overlay menu...
I wish there were a setting to move/delete/edit elements, and another option to choose different layouts (for example a PS4 layout !).

I also don't like being stuck with 8 games only at the top :(
PS4 had folders and more elements.... why limit it to 8 ? what if I want 50 ?? my choice !
(and after 1 year, they still haven't fixed the game disappearance in the library, I have games missing I can't launch anymore! let me be beta testers, I would REPORT issues to be fixed)

Of course there are beta testers reporting things. Just like how MS has TONS of people testing and reporting bugs for both Windows and Xbox. Doesn't meant anything gets done about them, sometimes even years later.

PS4 didn't get folder support until 3 years after release.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,617
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,074
Country
France
yeah, but you'd think they would use their old progress as base for new system (keep folders, existing options, etc.), but instead they seem to go from ground zero all over again, with new developers remembering nothing from their past experiences.
"we have a working UI from PS4 we took years to develop and adjust that we could allow users to use, but let's ditch it for a complete new one, instead of having both"

ok, that's just the UI, not important.
but missing game in the library should have a higher issue level !
not being able to launch a game if it's pushed into the library (past the 8 possible on the menu)... on a gaming console.. Am I the only one who found that issue ? works on PS4, no more on PS5.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

D34DL1N3R

Nephilim
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
3,670
Trophies
1
XP
3,208
Country
United States
yeah, but you'd think they would use their old progress as base for new system (keep folders, existing options, etc.), but instead they seem to go from ground zero all over again, with new developers remembering nothing from their past experiences.
"we have a working UI from PS4 we took years to develop and we could allow users to use, but let's ditch it for a complete new one, instead of having both"

One thing about the Series S/X enough people didn't like, was that it had the exact same UI as previous gen. I have to say, I was disappointed also the first time I turned mine on. I was like what? It's exactly the same! More people like a new UI with their new consoles than what would imo be a quite low number of people that would want the same one as previous gen. Having two completely different UIs to choose from would also take up a good amount of drive space. Then guess what? You have people complaining about how they wasted precious space for games by having two UI's on it. Can't please 100% of the people 100% percent of the time. It's like people wanting themes. Why? With all of the tiles and clutter all over the place, you can't even see a damn theme on either PS5 or Series S|X.

Imo people shouldn't be bothered so much by the UI. I personally spend VERY, VERY little time looking at them. I turn consoles on and start a game within a few seconds. Is there room for improvement? Sure. But as is, nothing is really broken. There is room for improvement on EVERY UI in the world. On EVERY device.

Edit: People have valid complaints. I'm not trying to say there aren't things that need improvement. There certainly are. It's just that I don't really find console UI's much to be concerned with due to the low amount of time I spend looking at/dealing with them.
 
Last edited by D34DL1N3R,
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
you can only have 8 games on the menu? right now, I have I think 8 exactly (5 or 6 ps4 games and 2 ps5 ones). I just bought kingdom hearts all in one and final fantasy vii remake intergrade for the ps4/ps5 respectively, so how do I launch those games? I never checked if there was a library section.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,617
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,074
Country
France
the library is all the way to the right of the 8 "last played" listed games. once on this icon, press "d-pad down" then "d-pad up" to access the sub-menu. (so intuitive, right?)

The library has different tabs :
- lists all the game you have installed, separated in internal/external categories.
- lists all the games you bought or added to your library (PSN and PS+)
- PS+ games only
- PSNow category

the first two can have additional filters from plateform (PS4/PS5) ... they removed "PS3" which was there last year, and sources (PSN, PS+) (they removed PSNow option and made its own tab I can't use, it asks me to subscribe even though there's an account with PSNow subscription set as primary console on my PS5...)

Games can't be launched in my "PSNow" tab, because I'm not the one with PSNow subscription, another account on my console does.
My console has 2 accounts : mine with PS+ subscription, my friend's with PSNow subscription. (we thought we shared it that way instead of me paying both and her nothing, and IT WORKED correctly on PS4!)
On PS4, it was launchable anywhere (Main menu, Psnow menu, library, etc.), not only from the main menu. Only the "download" was required to be from the PSnow subscriber, but "stream" or "launch" was possible from any account anywhere.
On PS5, her account benefit from my PSNow fully, but my account benefit from her PSNow only partially, as long as it's part of the "8 last launched" games. I can't choose "Stream" from the PSNow menu on my account, even though another account with PSNow subscription is on the console.

At least, there's one thing working : Downloaded PSNow games are listed and launchable from my library.
what's not possible is :
- Launching streamed game NOT from my library (from the PSNow menu, it was possible on PS4)
- Launching streamed game from my library (nowhere to be found, and can't be done from PSNow menu either, even if already installed on the console)

in order to launch a streamed PSNow game on PS5, I have to switch to the account which has the PSNow subscription, delete the game 'icon' from the console and re-stream it, so it's part of the "8 last installed games".... exit, because that account doesn't want to play the game. (here, note that you actually NEED to delete and reinstall it, as launching a game from one account doesn't put it back on the other account's last played game, only "last installed games" are displayed in other's account main menu)
switch back to my account, and there, I can see the game and launch it again, all this steps because the library doesn't list streamed games if you are not the PSNow subscriber.


I guess they won't care fixing that important bug anymore if Sony is planing a merge of the PS+ and PSNow, there probably will be a new menu, with new bugs :D
 
Last edited by Cyan,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,490
Trophies
2
XP
18,405
Country
United States
@Cyan @subcon959

I figured this out yesterday: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tips-for-reducing-ui-ads.601323/#post-9696019

you can get rid of news and video clips, I think, but not the activity cards like your objective or how close you are to getting a trophy. I think ps4 games only have the trophy one, but it won't tell you how close you are to getting the trophy. it seems to be a new thing with ps5 games. I don't think there's any way to remove the activity cards (I wish there was a way to view them from one of the menus at the bottom instead, when you press the ps button). I did remove one of the icons, one that I don't use, and I also moved the power button to the far left, so I can go into rest mode even more quickly. that's something I like about that menu: you can arrange it in any way you like.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: And I only ordered because the delivery app told me I had $4 off my next order.