Animated GIFs

Discussion in 'GBAtemp Art Studio' started by nileyg, Apr 25, 2007.

Apr 25, 2007

Animated GIFs by nileyg at 4:19 AM (735 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. nileyg
    OP

    Member nileyg GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    How do you edit animated gifs? I tried to use photoshop, but it would only let me edit the first frame...
    Does photoshop even do GIFs? I coulda swore that i saw an animation option in it somewhere...
    [​IMG]
     
  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm, i don't think photoshop (cs2 at least) can do animated gifs.

    i dloaded gif construction set (+serial lol) and it works alright, i haven't bothered to compare it to any other programs available.
     
  3. Phasher99

    Newcomer Phasher99 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Country:
    United States
    photoshop cs2 and cs3 can do animated gifs... i dont think u can edit it without the original psd however
    ^ it is a better option to do animated gifs in imageready tho... just save each frame in photoshop and animate it in imageready... or else just use the built in animation window in cs2... cs3 doesnt have imageready so ur forced to animate it in cs3... which isnt that bad. i just did one =p
     
  4. mthrnite

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    In CS and below, you work in Adobe ImageReady for animation. I believe they added an animation window for Photoshop CS2 though, check your "Window" menu and see if it's there, if not, ImageReady lets you swap things back and forth between it and Photoshop.

    edit: oops, a little late on this one...
     
  5. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    In Photoshop elements, it handles each frame in the GIF as a different layer. when you want to make a gif, just do each layer on the same image and go to Save for web page. Select animate and loop, then set your speed [​IMG]
     
  6. nileyg
    OP

    Member nileyg GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    [/crappy animation]
     

Share This Page