Animated gif question

Discussion in 'GBAtemp Art Studio' started by Harsky, Jul 31, 2008.

Jul 31, 2008

Animated gif question by Harsky at 6:23 PM (1,023 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At the moment, I am using Virtualdub to cut out a section of a show and then used the file > save image sequence. Then I imported it into Imageready to turn it into an animated gif sequence. But even after resizing it to something smaller it still comes out at a bigger file size. Is there an option where instead of having every single frame, it can delete every other frame to save a little file space?
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    You'll have to manually cut out the frames in imageready. Like cutting out every 2, if it's still not enough then repeat and so on.

    I suggest converting it directly to a gif first with presettings (like with a program as super as it's free and is able to convert to gif)
    and then polish it with imageready. Cropping, cutting frames (won't be as many frames as when saving it raw 'save image sequence' depending on the settings you used,
    so it won't be as much work).
     
  3. DoubleD45

    Newcomer DoubleD45 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Country:
    United States
    I made these using a program called Animagic:

    * [​IMG] [​IMG]

    You can download it here

    *Even though i made the moving .gif, The abe kirby sprite was made by Arxryl of oddworldforums.com

    Its a great program, and easy to use, It might help you with your problam
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I've used Microsoft GIF Animator for quickly deleting every other frame to cut the animation's size in half. It's not the easiest or most powerful GIF editor, but it does what I need it to do.
     
  5. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I use a program called Animation Shop 3. It came with an old version of Paint Shop Pro......7 I believe. I made my sig and avatar with it.
     
  6. Bishang

    Member Bishang GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Kent, WA
    Country:
    United States
    Imageready is great for animation, but it's a bit more complicated than Animation Shop. If you have Photoshop CS3 Extended, you can do animation directly into that program since Imageready isn't provided.
     
  7. SonicFan49

    Newcomer SonicFan49 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. I had to go thru such a long amount of time to make mah animated GIF smoothly running with no frame skips.
     

Share This Page