Anchor tag?

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by alidsl, Sep 14, 2010.

Sep 14, 2010

Anchor tag? by alidsl at 10:44 PM (986 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. alidsl
    OP

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been trying to make a contents for my iphone guides but I'm unsure on how to do it

    I know how to do the "[link="ladiblahblah"]blahblah[/link]

    But I'm confused as how to get it to link to part of my post, does anyone know how to get it to work

    I've read the bb code thread but it says that it's useless but tj managed to do it in that same thread

    Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to do this?

    Edit: WTF is orebody?
     
  2. Danny600kill

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They made it so that you can't use it, it only works with threads that already had it in if I remember correctly
     
  3. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Code:
    [link=hey]test[/link]
    
    [anchor="hey"]test[/anchor]
    WOULD be the way to use it... but it doesn't work now
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can't, Costello has disabled it.

    Apparently it broke posts, but in no way did it break any of my posts.

    The Thumb tag however, that very easily be used to break a posts. I wonder why Costello actually removed the anchor tag, they are very usefull in guides. A decent guide will attract people from other sites... heck, there's a guide in the Wii section which has had over a million views.
     
  5. alidsl
    OP

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've seen mods do it using HTML but when I tried it doesn't work
     
  6. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DELETED
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, that's because you're not a MOD lol.

    They aren't going to allow any old Tom, Dick or Harry use HTML on here.
     
  8. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Costello should bring back the anchor tags.
    They were very useful.
     
  9. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know there are several predefined anchors on the page such as top and bottom. I wonder if Costello disabled anchors because people were defining their own top and bottom anchors, overriding those already on the page.
     

Share This Page