GBAtemp Brightsider
OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Colombia
Most people use NAND backups to be able to play around with the system files with no fear of a permanent brick. But it is used to transfer savefiles and stuff from one Wii to another by some people, because it's easier than copying each savefile one by one to the SD card.

But to use a NAND of a Wii in another you need to change the keys and other stuff, and if the new Wii has a bad block where there was vital data, it just won't work. So I had an idea: what about an app that doesn't backup the entire NAND, but instead copies every individual file in the Wii in a folder in the SD card? Then to restore them in another Wii, the app would copy (or replace if that file already exists) every file to the new Wii. I'd be like an automated tool to copy all the channels and savefiles from a Wii to an SD card and back (and maybe even IOSes).

Now this is only an idea; I have zero coding experience, and I don't really expect anyone to do this. I just want to suggest the idea because it would probably take less space in the SD card and any backup would work on any Wii of that same region. It's probably dangerous if something happens when replacing files, but that's what BootMii is for
biggrin.gif

Szalkow

RawkSD Cheerleader
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Hmm, it's a nice idea, but I doubt that's how the NAND works. The NAND doesn't use any conventional file system that can be read by homebrew applications (yet); NAND dumping works because it copies the raw data and assumes the recipient Wii can read it, and save dumping works because it copies the saves to the SD card and uses a more conventional file system. Most of the data on the NAND, such as the system menus and IOSes, can't be copied off onto the SD card in any format other than raw...

giantpune

Trophies
XP
Country
United States