An easy way to fix SS freezing

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by JAGAR, Sep 12, 2009.

Sep 12, 2009

An easy way to fix SS freezing by JAGAR at 6:23 PM (4,503 Views / 0 Likes) 42 replies

  1. JAGAR
    OP

    Newcomer JAGAR Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    This method will help you to get rid of freezing of Soul Silver
    Just download this patch tool : http://nagaokastation.com/?p=4634
    Then open CLEAN SS rom with it and copy this text into the patching box :

    002F5F86 0C ? 36
    002F60DE 7A ? 7B

    change 36 to 37 if you still get freeze

    and then hit patch button.

    If it patched then you should get something similar to this:
    [​IMG]
    Ignore ___.nds.bak file its the backup of the original rom, the patched file keeps the name of the original. Thanks to Senbonzaku101 for pointing that out

    If you get only one string message, then YOU DID IT WRONG.

    Thanks to Triforce from ds-scene for this method, hope it helps [​IMG]

    I didnt test it on Heart Gold Rom=/

    And after using this antifreeze patch you can use translation patch, etc.
     


  2. bekern

    Newcomer bekern Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Link doesn't work for me..
     
  3. JAGAR
    OP

    Newcomer JAGAR Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed the link, thanks
     
  4. Zurren

    Member Zurren GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Brazil
    Does it work for both No$GBA and flashcarts?
     
  5. kidisnice87

    Member kidisnice87 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tested this?
     
  6. JAGAR
    OP

    Newcomer JAGAR Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Tested on Supercard DSone
    4 hours of straight play with no frezes, works fine for me

    i didnt test the Heart Gold though...
     
  7. Aeladya

    Member Aeladya *mistressOFtheCLOW

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Country:
    United States
    Now am I going to use the .nds file or the .nds.bak file? If I'm supposed to use .nds.bak then how to I get it to read? I'm don't think .nds.bak files work on an R4DS so I'm trying to see.
     
  8. JAGAR
    OP

    Newcomer JAGAR Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    If you did everything correct then you must get new file created, like filename-patched.nds
    Then just use it and ignore the .bak file
     
  9. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    take the bak off the end of the name...
     
  10. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    it wont work for me. i did what you said: get clean rom, put the code thing in, and change the last 2 digits. all i get is a single line. what am i doing wrong?
     
  11. NickAxel

    Newcomer NickAxel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    i tried this and it just reset my game and won't allow me to save. I use an iTouch2 btw
     
  12. XxOblivion77

    Member XxOblivion77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Country:
    Canada
    Can I combine this with Raqib's patch?
     
  13. LaymanX

    Newcomer LaymanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    I got 2 lines but it still doesn't work.
    It didn't even start up for me, I got a black screen when I selected my save. Good thing I backed it up.
     
  14. Aeladya

    Member Aeladya *mistressOFtheCLOW

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Country:
    United States
    The file I patched didn't get the filename-patched.nds patched part of the file name. It's still the original file name. The other file is a .nds.bak file. When I attempted to do it again, thinking I screwed up somehow, I just got the single line of text. Does that mean the file I did the first time is patched or did something go wrong?
     
  15. Senbonzaku101

    Member Senbonzaku101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    The patched rom retains the clean ROM's name. The ---.nds.bak is a backup of the clean ROM.

    Edit: All of the patchers out there right now, including this, Rudolph's and the latest translation patches; all patch the exact same thing, no need to stack them.
     
  16. JAGAR
    OP

    Newcomer JAGAR Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Just use the original file, one line means that its patched already, or just remove
    I used the original file.
    Playing for 5 hours straight already [​IMG]

    ___.nds.bak file is backup of the original
    Senbonzaku101 thanks for the info, didnt know that
     
  17. LaymanX

    Newcomer LaymanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    I think it didn't work for me because the -> showed up as a ? in the patcher.

    And how could it possible that the backup is the true original? That's the one I used and it didn't work, yet when I switched back, it did.

    Unless...the original clean ROM doesn't work either. See, I patched the ROM with a freeze fix before I even started. I still used a clean ROM with this patcher though.

    I'm too lazy to test though. Seems odd to me that the clean ROM wouldn't work though.
     
  18. Senbonzaku101

    Member Senbonzaku101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    It worked, if not just use Rudolph's Child's Play patch.
     
  19. LaymanX

    Newcomer LaymanX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    And.....where would I find that?
     
  20. grape_garden

    Newcomer grape_garden Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    That explains why I was running into problems; I was using that .bak file. Thank you for pointing that out.
     

Share This Page