AmplituDS v3 released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, May 27, 2007.

May 27, 2007

AmplituDS v3 released by shaunj66 at 5:58 PM (3,670 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom







    AmplituDS v3 released

    Includes 3D model tools








    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Sander Stolk (aka GBAtemp member 'Dark Knight ez') has released v3 of AmplituDS. Here's what he has to say about it.
    [​IMG] Download at official site

    Thanks to Dark Knight ez himself for the heads up.


     


  2. GeekShadow

    Member GeekShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    France/Vendée (85)
    Country:
    France
    This homebrew is so great [​IMG]
    It look like a commercial game [​IMG]
     
  3. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    OMFG after reading this i remember seeing my friends playing this game on PS2 and i'm like "WTF is that?"

    Reminds me of Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc, between stages that you would be surfing or something doing this in i think was a secret stage.
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I remember I got a this on a demo disk that came with my PS2.

    This game will be completely complete if it has custom song support.
     
  5. TheRocK

    Member TheRocK GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Germany
    It has, but you need to create them yourself, which is kinda complicated.
     
  6. Torte

    Member Torte GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yeah I still got that demo too [​IMG]
    Nice work Sander Stolk (what a strange name that is!)
     
  7. Dark Knight ez

    Newcomer Dark Knight ez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And by strange you actually mean nice, right? [​IMG]
     
  8. rice151

    Member rice151 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    omg, the memories with Frequency on the PS2.

    It's like Ouendan, but just a little more complicated [​IMG]
     
  9. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    This. Game. Pwns.

    The main thing it needs is more songs, but the best way to do that with a homebrew game is really to make a tool for making custom layouts for your own songs.
    I guess that you also have to convert MP3s to .ITs to put them in the game, right? I searched google for a program that does this, but to no avail...
    [EDIT] I checked the AmplituDS forums and apparently there is no way to convert from mp3 to .it >_< Oh well...
     
  10. chibibaka

    Newcomer chibibaka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    you could try to convert the mp3 into something that could convert to .it
     
  11. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently converting from .wav to .it creates rather large .it files, which AmplituDS doesn't like. I don't think you can convert .mp3s to anything that will convert into .its besides .wavs.
     
  12. misticknight

    Member misticknight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Country:
    Australia
    why do i get a msg saying "Can not utilize fat" when i try to run this? It's on a R4 btw.
     
  13. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You need to allpy the R4 DLDI patch.
     
  14. Dark Knight ez

    Newcomer Dark Knight ez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try getting 2 stars or more for every stage on every difficulty. You'll get a nice bonus.
    And no, .mp3s can't be converted to .it.
     
  15. 4ppleseed

    Member 4ppleseed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I get an error. It says it can't find the files... something like amplitude/assets/textures/bluebottomright_tex

    (I'm at work and that's from my memory of trying to get it to work last night)

    I have the patched amplitude.nds and the amplitude folder on the root of my R4. What am I missing?
     
  16. Dark Knight ez

    Newcomer Dark Knight ez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You're not missing anything.
    It just means opening that file fails for some reason. (Not my fault though. ;p)

    Two possible solutions.
    - Format or defragment your card and put AmplituDS on it again. Might work after that.
    - Check "/amplituds/smb rmx/settings.txt" and change the word "blueflash" to "clouds" there. Save the change. That makes it use another background and hopefully those files do open for you.
     
  17. 4ppleseed

    Member 4ppleseed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool. Will try and report back with how I get on.
     
  18. MAD_BOY

    Member MAD_BOY Lazy bum

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Sittard, Limburg
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the bonus song is great on brutal, could've been a tad harder though
     
  19. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I know that there is a fifth song, but five songs still isn't a lot [​IMG]

    But seriously, something that makes it easy to make your own tracks would be the best way to get more songs.
     
  20. Dark Knight ez

    Newcomer Dark Knight ez Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I realize that, but I'm not sure there is an easier/faster way than currently available. And it's not that hard to create a stage as it is, honestly. Just takes a bit of time.
     

Share This Page