Am I the only one who didn't see a second slot?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Escape, Jun 15, 2010.

Jun 15, 2010
  1. Escape
    OP

    Member Escape GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    I dunno, it looks like it has only 1 slot [​IMG]
    Does that mean that 3DS games and DS games will use the same slot? :/
     


  2. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like it... There's definitely only the 1 slot. I didn't even see a SD card slot, unless its covered by a very well hidden cover.
     
  3. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I got the same impression from pictures of it. Not that that's a bad thing anyway.
     
  4. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I was looking for that when he was waving the 3DS around on the e3.nintendo.com stream, during a segment where he was discussing nintendogs + cats. I saw the slot in the system he was holding was empty and I didn't see any other slots
     
  5. Gearhead

    Newcomer Gearhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
  6. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Thanks for the pics mate, allows for a slightly clearer view [​IMG]

    It's good that there's only one slot for both DS and 3DS games, because that means the form factor of the current card holders and flashcards can just remain as it has always been.
     
  7. Justin121994

    Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if flashcards work xD
     
  8. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it will be a long time til that happens
     
  9. Daku93

    Member Daku93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes....
    They will!
    Prabably not right after launch, but at some point afterwards there will be working Flashcards.
     
  10. Escape
    OP

    Member Escape GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    I think he meant if current flash carts will work on it [​IMG]
    Damn, will definitely buy it on launch if the SCDS2 will work [​IMG]
     
  11. Gearhead

    Newcomer Gearhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    @Overlord Nadrian:

    No problem.

    True, but it looked to me as if the card slot was bigger, more the size of a compact flash card than the current DS card size. In any case, it really just looked bigger, so assuming it is I'm interested to see how the currently sized DS games will be kept inside of the slot.


    EDIT:
    Here we go, more pics and better quality too. It does indeed seem there is only one slot, and it may just be me but it appears to be slightly bigger:
    http://www.engadget.com/photos/nintendo-3d...on-an-encore-3/
     
  12. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virtual console for 3ds is very likely, so of course no slot-2.
     
  13. Blazikun

    Member Blazikun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    51n30, 0w10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. Gearhead

    Newcomer Gearhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, I think it's just because the first pictures are blurry. And the lighting in the pictures isn't exactly amazing. If you look at my last post there's a link to another gallery with better pictures.
     
  15. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    You're right, it DOES look slightly thicker than a normal DS Game Card slot. Maybe there'll be some kind of system that checks to see if it's a DS game or a 3DS game and closes the slot a little tighter if it's a DS game?
     
  16. Gearhead

    Newcomer Gearhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Wellll I'm not sure about that last part, if you mean that it's mechanical than perhaps, if you mean that it's electronic then I'm not sure. Who knows, it could be the same size and the perspective just makes it look bigger, storage tech is obviously good enough that it should be easily possible.
     
  17. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,432
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The game slot is protected?

    or do you think someone had a DS game and try it on the 3DS ? just to see how it fit, and how the top screen will looks like with a DS game backward-compatibility.
     
  18. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    More likely they'll just latch in at the same spot, leaving a DS game secured but with a bit of open space.
     
  19. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Combination of both, actually. Let's say the 3DS recognises (electronic) that the game is a DS game, then it makes something (mechanical) latch on a bit tighter.
     
  20. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With something mechanical, it leaves the possibility open for it to break...maybe if that is the case, it could be reinforced, or maybe there's some other feature.
     

Share This Page