Hacking Question Am i safe updating my sysnand to fw 13?

HBubli

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
283
Country
Germany
Will it break the emunand like last time an update came? Or am i fine? I dont use the sysnand for cfw btw.
 

Snak3eater

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
8
Country
United Kingdom
I accidentally updated when launching a game on atmosphere and now I’m stuck in rcm mode will it sort its self out when atmosphere is updated to support or is the nand messed up and needs restoring I did update a few things when I started playing with it yesterday I’ve not had it on for nearly a year I updated hekate atmosphere and used that new daydream I think it was called not choidujour before I accidentally clicked update system software wen starting a game now it’s bricked I think or is it I can’t boot stock firmware either it it is on sysnand by the way any help much appreciated thanks
 
Last edited by Snak3eater,

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
544
Trophies
0
XP
921
Country
United States
I accidentally updated when launching a game on atmosphere and now I’m stuck in rcm mode will it sort its self out when atmosphere is updated to support or is the nand messed up and needs restoring I did update a few things when I started playing with it yesterday I’ve not had it on for nearly a year I updated hekate atmosphere and used that new daydream I think it was called not choidujour before I accidentally clicked update system software wen starting a game now it’s bricked I think or is it I can’t boot stock firmware either it it is on sysnand by the way any help much appreciated thanks

Holy cow, it is one long sentence. If you want people to understand what you're asking, put some punctuations in your sentences. I could only understand the first part of what you're asking. If you've updated your fw and had auto RCM enabled, you can boot into Hekate to disable it. Once the new Atmosphere is available, you can update Atmosphere/Hekate and enable auto RCM again.
 

Snak3eater

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
8
Country
United Kingdom
Holy cow, it is one long sentence. If you want people to understand what you're asking, put some punctuations in your sentences. I could only understand the first part of what you're asking. If you've updated your fw and had auto RCM enabled, you can boot into Hekate to disable it. Once the new Atmosphere is available, you can update Atmosphere/Hekate and enable auto RCM again.
ok thanks ile try, so if i disable auto rcm will it boot into stock. im just unsure because its saying unknown pkg1 on stock and cfw when i try loading them . and also i have sxos and that isnt working either its just going to black screen on stock and justt restarts over n over again on cfw .
 

Snak3eater

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
8
Country
United Kingdom
ok thanks ile try, so if i disable auto rcm will it boot into stock. im just unsure because its saying unknown pkg1 on stock and cfw when i try loading them . and also i have sxos and that isnt working either its just going to black screen on stock and justt restarts over n over again on cfw .
i did that disable auto rcmim back on stock now thanks . at least i know its not knackerd now ,none of the games are working though is that only in cfw or is there a way to do it . just dying to play skward sword with my new zelda joycons thats all how long does it usually take for cfw to bet updated or is it like, how long is a piece of sting ? sort of thing
 

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
544
Trophies
0
XP
921
Country
United States
Yes. If your stock firmware was booting previously, and you didn't touch it, then disabling auto RCM should boot into stock. Did you have emunand when your Switch was working? If you accidentally updated your sysNand, then SXOS is not going to work. If you had emuNand, and only accidentally updated emuNand, and your sysNand is 11.0 or below, then SXOS should still work.
 

Snak3eater

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
8
Country
United Kingdom
Yes. If your stock firmware was booting previously, and you didn't touch it, then disabling auto RCM should boot into stock. Did you have emunand when your Switch was working? If you accidentally updated your sysNand, then SXOS is not going to work. If you had emuNand, and only accidentally updated emuNand, and your sysNand is 11.0 or below, then SXOS should still work.
no i think it was all on sysnand, at one point i had an sd for each and did have emunand but that was nearly a year ago and i was using sxos. on the hekate it says emunand disabled i cant remember what i did to it back then. ihad everthing working yesterday and i pressed update on the start software thing and then it decided not to work at all. at least its on now though cheers,
is there anyway i can play my game without waiting for atmosphere , a link to a tutorial maybe. thanks again sir. much obliged
 
Last edited by Snak3eater,

Kallrkyle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2021
Messages
203
Trophies
0
Age
50
XP
200
Country
Denmark
i did that disable auto rcmim back on stock now thanks . at least i know its not knackerd now ,none of the games are working though is that only in cfw or is there a way to do it . just dying to play skward sword with my new zelda joycons thats all how long does it usually take for cfw to bet updated or is it like, how long is a piece of sting ? sort of thing
Ofcaruse your game aint working, you can't run pirated games from ofw
 

Snak3eater

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
8
Country
United Kingdom
Ofcaruse your game aint working, you can't run pirated games from ofw
can you point in my direction to downgrade. i put 12.0 on it yesterday but i didnt make a backup or have one from before or is it not possible to do that ?

like what if i made a emunand could i put 12.0 on that or would it be stuck on 13.0 without a backup
 

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
544
Trophies
0
XP
921
Country
United States
Downgrading is risky, as it messes with the fuse count, and you could brick your Switch. I personally never had a need to downgrade, and have never done it. So I can't recommend it. I got rid of SXOS since the official fw was upgraded past 11.0 and never missed it after switching over to Atmosphere. My honest recommendation for you is to stick with Atmosphere. Just wait a few days for the new version to come out, and you'll be back in business. But that's just my opinions, there are others with more experience with downgrading in this forum, who may chime in to give you advice. Regardless, back up your nand and sd card if you want something to fall back on, in case you mess up.
 

Snak3eater

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
8
Country
United Kingdom
YYYYEEEEAAAH :gun::switch: :yayswitch:
30 summat hours later, and ive managed to get downgraded 2 a fresh 12.0.3 nand, and im looking forward to building it up nice n tidy this time, thanks for helping dude this video mashed my head for last 7 hours but now i feel like a level 99 matrix hacker man and id do it again for fun what a buzz hahaha
if anybody sees this with simalar problem struggling to understand all the mumbo jumbo this is what your looking for (((((((
))))))))
 
Last edited by Snak3eater,
  • Like
Reactions: gelderm

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
993
Trophies
0
XP
2,274
Country
Germany
I don't see much reason in updating to firmware 13.0
Since he is talking about his Sysnand, its probably to go online with it.
Besides of that, things like the bluetooth headphone support might also be a reason for some people, or staying up to date to not run into problems when playing something lokal with another person that needs an update, he hasn't installed yet.
So if he asked, he probably had some reason to ask for it.

To add to the answer to ops question a bit:
If no autorcm or modchip is used to boot to the sysnand, its totally separated, and wont break anything if updated.
But if Autorcm is used, and hekate is used to boot into stock, hekate needs to first have support for the firmware, before the sysnand can be updated, otherwise it won't boot until hekate got updated, but it still won't affect the emunand in any way, so the emunand will keep working.
 

erdanie

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 11, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
4
Country
Spain
I have a quick question, guys:

I have a banned Switch, with AMS 1.1.1 and I recently update to 13.0.0. via Daybreak. Options menu shows 13.0.0. AMS 1.1.1 E but the console keeps showing the message that an update is available when I try to start an app/game. I can delete this update via GoldLeaf but the problem repeats as soon as I shut down or reset the Switch.

Any ideas why is this happening? Is it safe if I just allow this update (CFW prevents from any fuse burn, I understand)? Is it possible to permanently delete this update?
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,220
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,077
Country
United States
I have a quick question, guys:

I have a banned Switch, with AMS 1.1.1 and I recently update to 13.0.0. via Daybreak. Options menu shows 13.0.0. AMS 1.1.1 E but the console keeps showing the message that an update is available when I try to start an app/game. I can delete this update via GoldLeaf but the problem repeats as soon as I shut down or reset the Switch.

Any ideas why is this happening? Is it safe if I just allow this update (CFW prevents from any fuse burn, I understand)? Is it possible to permanently delete this update?
Do you have Wi-Fi settings enabled on the console? If yes, delete them as the console automatically downloads the system update if there are any Wi-Fi settings.
 

Ibinixer84

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
73
Country
Ireland
Holy cow, it is one long sentence. If you want people to understand what you're asking, put some punctuations in your sentences. I could only understand the first part of what you're asking.
As if to say: Why not use this gaming down time to work on your grammar and ADHD? That's the best thing I've read on GBAtemp.

NO offence to Snak3eater!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    TheLiamChannel @ TheLiamChannel: lol