Am I missing something?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by science, Sep 16, 2006.

Sep 16, 2006

Am I missing something? by science at 12:13 AM (1,709 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    See post below
     
  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    you're missing cables mostly.....and you'll certainly run into different things as you put together a system. Might want to pickup some decent cooling while you're @ it (aka more case fans that fits your case and a better cpu cooler). There's not much difference other than using dual channel technology and 2 512s takes up more slots (impedes future upgrading) than a 1 gig taking 1 slot. You got a cable modem, fine, hook it up to the cable line and hook a ethernet cable (rj-45) to your computer and you're ready to go. I'm sure that motherboard comes with built in (@ least 10 mbit) network card.....if not you'll need to either buy a network card or if you want to go wireless, you need a wireless router and a wireless network card.
     
  3. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Allright, thanks. And I just found out that they only ship to USA adresses. Dang. Got to go find a Canadian site.
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I hope you don't intend to play with this PC.
    - The graphics card you selected is very low quality (9600 Pro), don't expect to be able to play games like Oblivion.
    - You have chosen to buy an additional PCI sound card while you already have an onboard sound chip. You WILL have IRQ conflicts when you'll want to use your PCI sound card, believe me. I have made the same mistake in the past, not listening to my friends who told me not to do so.
    - why buy additional PCI USB 2.0 ports? you already have 6... 4 on the front, 2 on the rear

    oh and also, why would you buy a pci sound card? the onboard sound chip is already 5.1 compatible...
     
  5. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada

    Haha, this is exactally why I was asking first. I have no idea what I'm doing lol. Anyways, with this info in mind, I'm making a new cart on a Canadian site.

    Also this is probably a really dumb question, but do I need to solder anything? Or is everything just cables?
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    only reason you'd need to solder is to do some hardcore modding, aka doing a voltage drop mod on a asus board. But it sounds like everyday useability you're looking for so you're good to go. If you want to play games, maybe look toward a better video card like the above mentioned.
     
  7. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Keep going!
     
  8. privateers69

    Member privateers69 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Your AMD Athlon chip (socket 939) is not compatable with the motherboard (socket 754).
     
  9. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you'll end-up spend more then $700.

    building a PC not that easy for new beginner..
    I already builded 6 PC totals.

    I could help you but frist tell me what:


    CPU:
    Video Card:
    motherboard:

    and you need a Windows MCE/XP installer CD
     
  10. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Diamond S120 Radeon 9550 / 256MB DDR / AGP 8x / DVI / VGA / TV Out / Video Card (1 lbs)

    I have essentially this card without the TV out (its STI not Diamond) and provided the mobo has the AGP slot to use it, for a cheap card its pretty darned good. Can even play Oblivion reasonably well (aka: a tad better than XBox1 graphics).
     
  11. omegatr0n

    Member omegatr0n GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    honestly i know thiers amd fanboys and intel fanboys...but i have to say go core 2 duo...Also your graphics card SUCKS...get also i would rather get two 250 gb hdds and run them raid then one 320 as its not really all that much mor ein price
     
  12. Mchart

    Member Mchart GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    If you dont want to use the onboard sound, which on most mobo's (besides nforce mobo's) suck. Then I would suggest a creative X-Fi. If you are going to get a sound card the X-Fi is the ONLY way to go right now.
     
  13. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Almost there!
     
  14. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    You may as well get a socket AM2 processor and board, which supercedes the 939, and that'll let you have DDR2 memory as well.
     
  15. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
  16. Kyoji

    Member Kyoji ウッーウッーウマ

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,474
    Location:
    :'(
    Country:
    United States
    Er, I dont know what Costello is talking about. The onboard soundchip on most motherboards usually sucks, hence why I buy me a good ole Creative Sound Blaster Audigy. You can get a 7.1 card for like, 50 bucks now. As far as IRQ conflicts, as long as you uninstall the drivers for the onboard chip, and disable it in the device manager, you shouldn't have any problems. I don't.
     
  17. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    Kyoji is right, if you uninstall the drivers and disable the chip in the bios, there will be no problem. But based on your apparent knowledge seja_8 I thought you wouldn't like to hear that anyway. The onboard sound chips are usually decent. I recommend you to try it before you spend extra money on a PCI sound card. Yes, try it and you'll see if you need a new sound card.
     
  18. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You can use a CRT TV screen as a monitor but I advise if you want to be able to, for example read these forums with it, invest in even a cheap CRT computer monitor. There is no problem with using both a cheap monitor and a TV screen, I have that setup in my lounge room right now.
    Old secondhand 15" Dell trinitron CRT and my CRT TV both hooked up to the computer.

    CRT TV screens only output at a very low resolution and it can be very hard to read text off them. apart from that problem you will NEED a monitor with VGA or DVI input to set up the computer to use the video out and even to install an operating system.

    As far as sound goes I'm with Costello. You seem to building a budget machine with reasonable processing power and unless I missed it you haven't mentioned what you will be outputting the sound through.

    No use having an $666, 8.3 channel, DTX THC certified creato-blaster max edition soundcard if you are going to be using some cheap stereo speakers, cheap earphones or your TV speakers for the sound.

    Onboard sound is very good these days and I don't know why it gets such a bad rap. I have an Audigy 2 ZS platinum pro on my main computer and it makes music sound beautiful through my expensive Sennheiser headphones and thumps my Logitech Z-680 speakers loudly. That was over AU $1200 worth all up to have that though. I would not spend that much for sound hardware again. Well the Headphones were worth every penny [​IMG]

    But I'm a big fan of spending the money to get nice peripherals. A good quality keyboard makes more users happy with their computer than an extra 2MB of level 2 Cache ever did.

    I find Monitor, Keyboard and Mouse the most important parts of the computer for MOST people. I'm sure others will reply stating that you need gigabit ethernet and water cooling but I've spent 6 years now custom building PCs for the masses and that's my experience.

    Whatever you get, good luck building and I hope you are happy with what you get.
     

Share This Page