Alternatives to the Nintendo WiFi conector

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by CockroachMan, Dec 31, 2007.

Dec 31, 2007
  1. CockroachMan
    OP

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi everyone! Just got myself a Wii.. and I want to put it online.. I have broadband connection, but it's not wireless.. I don't want to buy a wireless router just for the Wii/DS, and the Nintendo official WiFi connector is quite expensive.. what are the cheapper alternatives!? Can I use any wifi adapter? Are there compatibility issues? Will it also work with my DS? [​IMG]
     
  2. X-Tractor

    Newcomer X-Tractor Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Finland
    Well, you could use the LAN adapter for the Wii. It's much more reliable than the Wi-Fi Connector. But, that will only work for your Wii, and not for your DS. I bought the Wi-Fi Connector a while ago, but it just wouldn't work. It made me lose my mind, so I traded it in for a LAN adapter, and since that, I have had NO problems at all, so go with the LAN adapter.
     
  3. Shinster

    Member Shinster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Philippines
    I know you said you don't want to buy a wireless router, but really a linksys will solve all your problems. The usb wifi thing could potentially give you more problems.
     
  4. CockroachMan
    OP

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    After reading some advices and some research.. I got a wireless D-link router.. it's in the same price range as the Nintendo usb thing and can be used for other than the Wii and DS, also, you can use it with your PC turned off.. [​IMG]

    thanks everyone o/
     
  5. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah, just make sure ur modem is on with the router.
     

Share This Page