Alternatives to Limewire

ackers

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
I've been using Limewire for a few years now and I'm quite sick of it... I only use it dl mp3's but they're never in 320kbps quality which is what I'm after really.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: Oh yeah, Virgin (the ISP) are supposed to be banning connections that use Limewire, and guess what I'm with Virgin, so is there a way I can download mp3's using P2P w/o Virgin knowing?

Salamantis

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
If you want high quality music, go with torrents instead of Limewire or the like.
Private trackers are usually a plus, but you have to seed. You won't really find anything high quality on the gnutella network
tongue.gif

Gore

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Is LimeWire fast?

Eh..
I use Ares.
You can set advanced Audio searches to only find ones equal to, greater than or less than a certain quality.
Sometimes for me it has problems connecting, but it's usually fixed by disconnecting and reconnecting.

TrolleyDave

Philosolosophising
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
Ackers said:
TrolleyDave said:
You could always get a newsgroup account. Much harder to track what your doing, better speeds and many other reasons.
What's that and do you have to pay?

Here's the Wiki on it, it'll explain it alot better than me!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newsgroup

Yep, you've gotta shell out around a fiver a month unfortunately, but it's well worth it for the extra speed and security.

Vater Unser

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Gambia, The
Soulseek never let me down...
I never used Limewire, but Soulseek is simply amazing compared to eDonkey or older shit like Kazaa...