Also can't get backup loaders working...

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by godbroken, Dec 30, 2010.

Dec 30, 2010
  1. godbroken
    OP

    Newcomer godbroken Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys

    I'm in the same boat as this poster pretty much: This guy

    But nobody was able to solve his problem it seems.

    I've been modding things for years and thought I'd do my parents wii like I did mine a year ago but something has either gone wrong or I've missed something... or I got sloppy. Here's where I'm at:

    I'm on 4.1, got Homebrew working fine, on a pre 2008 wii.

    I've done so much to it at this point I don't remember what I have and haven't tried

    For the Trucha Bug, I ran the IOS236 Installer.
    I also ran cIOS38r17 installer.

    Neither Neogamma or Darkcorp seem to be working. I can't shake the feeling that I missed something stupid.

    Any suggestions greatly appreciated.
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,573
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Which DVD brand are you using? Which burning speed? What's the wii serial number (you don't need to post the whole number)? And you've installed cIOS38r17 using IOS236 and everything went fine? And NeoGamma is saying you are using IOS249 v17, this should be.
     
  3. godbroken
    OP

    Newcomer godbroken Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    DVD Brand: Staples DVD+R
    Burn Speed: Tried 3x and 2x
    Serial No. LU5...
    Model No. RVL-001 USA

    And ya all the installs went fine
     
  4. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,573
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You can't use "normal" DVD+R's, that's the problem, you need to use DVD-R's. I heard you need to set the book type to DVD-ROM to use DVD+R's, but I have no idea how.
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Only few burners can change the booktype to one of the user choice (BenQ, LG, LiteOn, Nec, Nu-Tec, Plextor, Ricoh, Samsung)
    Some other burner automatically change DVD+R DL booktype to DVD-rom (Pioneer, maybe some other).

    Use ImgBurn to set BookType if you have one of the compatible burner.
    Even with that, you better use DVD-R.
     
  6. godbroken
    OP

    Newcomer godbroken Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'll be damned, that was it.

    Here I am with a brand new stack of DVD-R and didn't even think to use it til you said it.

    Thank you guys I really appreciate it. I'd much rather break down, ask for help, and feel stupid than struggle needlessly for days on end [​IMG]
     

Share This Page