All i get is a Loading... Screen.

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by calahil, Jan 6, 2007.

Jan 6, 2007
  1. calahil
    OP

    Newcomer calahil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Hello

    I just received the M3 DS Simply. I loaded the files from the CD onto the root of the microSD and then when I turned on the DS it flashed white and then went to a black screen that just said Loading... on the top screen. It sits there forever. I reread the instructions and i noticed it said you need to also copy a skin-*.jpg to the root of the microSD. Unfortunately my CD only came with _DS_MENU.DAT _DS_MSHL.NDS and the shell directory within the system\English directory. Is it because of this that I am unable to load. On a side note I also have the same issue when there is no microSD even in the Simply.

    Also is the card writer that comes with the DS Simply known to be faulty?
     
  2. Xanikseo

    Newcomer Xanikseo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. emudojo

    Newcomer emudojo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    if you are still having this problem, try to change _ds_menu.dat to upper case (_DS_MENU.DAT), this fixed my problems with that damm loading screen [​IMG]
     
  4. nds_gamerz

    Newcomer nds_gamerz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    you need to add the firmware files onto your memory card before you can add games to it.
     
  5. emudojo

    Newcomer emudojo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    also format the DS CARD as FAT16 NOT FAT32, that helped me a lot
     
  6. Breakfast

    Newcomer Breakfast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    tried updating to 1.02 and now all I get is a loading screen...
     
  7. Breakfast

    Newcomer Breakfast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    argh...I even tried reformating the card to the way it was but still I get the loading screen...wtf..
     
  8. ThadSharpe

    Newcomer ThadSharpe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure you plugged your card writer into a USB 2.0 slot and/or use a reliable card writer... the included one is iffy at best.

    I also had this problem with the Loading... screen (on my R4). I fixed it by reformatting the card (full format, not quick), and ensuring the micro SD card sat well in the cartridge when I put it back in the DS.
     
  9. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyway to reset the M3 like you can do with a G6??

     
  10. Breakfast

    Newcomer Breakfast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Anyone know if there is supposed to be some 4 MB system file as well? I think I remember there was one and the manual makes mention of it but due to the poor english, I can't really understand what it is trying to say...
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    _DS_MENU.SYS is automatcally generated when you boot up the cart. It should probably be deleted when updating the firmware.
     
  12. Breakfast

    Newcomer Breakfast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, I didn't delete it when I was updating my firmware. Am I screwed?
     
  13. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Unless it explodes, you can't really screw yourself with this cart, software-wise at least. Everything is reset when you format the SD card.

    If you haven't already, you should reformat the SD card and only put the files for the 1.02 firmware on it: _DS_MENU.DAT, _DS_MSHL.NDS, and the _system_ and moonshl folders. Try starting it up like that before you put anything else back on the card.
     
  14. Breakfast

    Newcomer Breakfast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    ARGH IT XPLODED!

    err


    I followed you instructions exactly and still, no dice

    thanks anyways.
     

Share This Page