All homebrew stops working progressively, help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by StevieCreamchees, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. StevieCreamchees
    OP

    Newcomer StevieCreamchees Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I had originally had waninkokos 249 installed and it was working great for a while, then things progressively went to hell. The problem started by trying to play Super Mario Galaxy 2 in USB loader GX, where I got a DSI exception code dump and the game would not load or do its little jingle when I selected it. From there, quite a few other games stopped working, one or two at a time. I also was unable to use media browsers and such until pretty much everything was effectively unusable.

    More recently, I decided to give it another attempt and opted for d2x this time, with Wiiflow as my loader. Everything was working like a charm at first, I had tested all 40 some games I had on my hard drive with no problems at all, until this morning I selected Mario Galaxy 2 and the box art glitched, and I got a similar code dump from last time.

    A friend suggested to me I re-install a patched IOS 36 and the cIOS I was using, and I'm still having the same problem.

    I'm a bit frustrated that I can't seem to get anything working consistently, and was wondering if anyone else had similar problems and what might be done to fix it.
     
  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    sounds like filesystem corruption to me
     
  3. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Some versions of GX can cause your HDD to corrupt, so that's a possibility.

    @OP: Try using the latest version of Cfg USB Loader. It has the best compatibility.
     
  4. StevieCreamchees
    OP

    Newcomer StevieCreamchees Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Trying that now, thank you.

    I suppose filesystem corruption means I'll have to format the hard drive and put the games on there again?
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. It shouldn't take that long to rip your games with Cfg though. When I got a new HDD, which could actually fit all my games (my old one could only hold a few games at a time), I just turned on some music, read a book, and ripped the discs one at a time.
     
  6. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    IF the cause is fs corruption its better to start fresh yes
    but first check that this is really the cause
    there are fs checkers for all fs available
     

Share This Page