AKAIO: Possible to ignore internal GBA name when using the 3in1-loadin

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by JLsoft, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. JLsoft
    OP

    Newcomer JLsoft The Joystick Lunatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    When using an EZ-Flash 3in1 and I select a GBA file to run, it seems that AKAIO (1.3b2) checks the currently-flashed-to-NOR's internal header name, and if it's the same as what I'm selecting to load, it skips writing entirely and just boots the GBA slot. Is there a way to stop this behavior so that it writes/flashes no matter what's currently on the 3in1?

    I ask because unlike ROMs, emulator compilations will all have the same internal name (for that specific emulator) unless they're hex-edited (and the header checksums fixed).



    Thanks for any info either way. I'm loving my AK2 w/AKAIO so far, and it looks like it will take the place of the other carts I have unless I run into some compatibility problem with something I can't live without [​IMG]
     
  2. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    for those rarities, select the game you want in NOR and choose rom info and pick "flash to nor"
     
  3. JLsoft
    OP

    Newcomer JLsoft The Joystick Lunatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Doing that (manually selecting Properties/File info -> NOR Flash) acts the same way...it skips erasing/writing and just boots the GBA slot :/

    I guess I'll just give everything a unique internal name
     
  4. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yes i think i found the problem and fixed it in svn now, so this should be fixed in next release.
     
  5. JLsoft
    OP

    Newcomer JLsoft The Joystick Lunatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome [​IMG]
     
  6. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    Norm's a dickhead, acting like he cares about the 3in1...
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    feel the love.

    -aw
     
  8. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    If you guys are interested, join the #acekard channel on the GBAtemp IRC server at irc.gbatemp.net:5190 where the AKAIO devs tend to give out private betas of AKAIO as its being worked on so you can get access to all the new fixes and goodies early. Its a great place to hang out and ask for help as well.

    Oh and check out their new site and bug tracker over at http://akaio.gbatemp.net to report bugs and such you find.
     
  9. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    we give out nothing. Narin's a liar. He kills puppies.
     
  10. JLsoft
    OP

    Newcomer JLsoft The Joystick Lunatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    Just to add a related behavior to this I've found...

    (I'm not saying this is a bug or anything that needs 'fixing', I'm just documenting it for the other...0 people that might run into it. This might be the wanted behavior anyway.)


    - If a .GBA's internal Software Name and Game Serial are blank, AKAIO won't attempt to flash it to the 3in1 (even if you attempt to Flash to NOR manually)...it will instantly boot the GBA slot.
     
  11. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    what is an example of that? a homebrew or a sample ROM?
    i know NOR flash is controlled via internal header (was best method for doing the 'is something on the NOR already?" load combo)
    or maybe they all are.

    So many combos.
     
  12. JLsoft
    OP

    Newcomer JLsoft The Joystick Lunatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    I've only seen this (blank name/serial) with a couple of homebrew apps...

    So far:
    SMS/GG VGM Player - http://www.smspower.org/maxim/gbavgmplayer/
    HVCA (NES/FDS emu/NSF Player) - http://mc68882.s53.xrea.com/agb/



    Again, I wasn't saying this is a bug with AKAIO or anything...things with bad-or-strange-headers-like-the-above-examples work fine if they're edited & repaired using GBATA. I was just mentioning how AKAIO acts in this situation just in case someone else runs into some random blank-name homebrew game/app and is confused by it not getting flashed.
     
  13. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    cool. thanks for the head's up.

    we'll just make any rom with a blank header have the header "BABYRAPER". That'll make people program things properly.
     
  14. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    We will not support non standard homebrew, if they are broken its because they do not comply with the standards Nintendo set and deserve to be broken, email their authors and tell them to fix it, its not our job to support every case scenario of broken hombrew.
     
  15. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Thats interesting, i gotta try that one day.
     

Share This Page