AKAIO 1.4.1 & AK 4.16 FW both on Acekard2, how?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Harry Potthead, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. Harry Potthead
    OP

    Member Harry Potthead GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi,

    I'm running AKAIO 1.4.1 on my AK2 and I want the original FW 4.16 on my AK2 too, so I can switch between 2 Systems. Where do I put the "__ak2" Folder and "akmenu4.nds" File? Do I need the "ak2loader.nds" too? And if yes in which Folder/Path? Which OS is booting first then, AKAIO 1.4.1 or Original AK 4.16 Firmware? Do I start 4.16 FW from AKAIO 1.4.1? Sorry for the noob questions... Would be nice if someone shows me the correct Folders and Paths [​IMG]
     
  2. klopfdreh

    Member klopfdreh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Germany
    Thats impossible, because its a limitation of the hardware and at the startup the hardware chooses the loader and you can't switch it. That would somehow like if you want to shutdown windows when you start another os out of it.
     
  3. niu

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
  4. Harry Potthead
    OP

    Member Harry Potthead GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Germany
    The File is down:

    The key you provided for file download was invalid. This is usually caused because the file is no longer stored on Mediafire. This occurs when the file is removed by the originating user or Mediafire.
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    I haven't gotten around to actually test it, but here's a Megaupload mirror if you want to try it out:

    [​IMG] Download
     
  6. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    One question why would you want the official firmware when akaio is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO............ much better! [​IMG]
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yea, that is a good question [​IMG]
     
  8. niu

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure? [​IMG]

    How to use
    -Rename AKAIO's akmenu4.nds to akaio.nds, offical AK2's akmenu4.nds to ak2.nds
    -turn power on & hold R to boot offical AK2 Firmware.
     
  9. Harry Potthead
    OP

    Member Harry Potthead GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Germany
    I thought that not all (older) NDS-Games are running on AKAIO. When they all running I don't need the original Firmware. Can someone confirm this? [​IMG]
     
  10. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    all games run on akaio. Its the official firmware that sucks.
     
  11. Kaoz360

    Newcomer Kaoz360 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AKAIO rules over official 4.16,As long as keep up to date on the loaders and besides AKAIO firmware gets updated and is more future proof on future roms
     
  12. Laboei

    Newcomer Laboei Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    not definetifely ALL games...
    Animal Crossing EU works only with the original firmware [​IMG]
    discussion
     
  13. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Thats because I hate Animal Crossing so much that i never fixed it. [​IMG]
     
  14. Laboei

    Newcomer Laboei Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    thanks for your reply Normmatt
    can I do something to convince you it's the greatest game on earth (at least my daughter told me so)???
    Would it be much work to do so? Would you do that to make my daughter smile (and many million european daughters too)?
     
  15. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am no daughter, but it would make me happy. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page