AK2I [Akaio] not being able to properly create/read .sav files no more

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ts.salvador, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello all,

    I've been reading the forums really for a while, looking for issues and seeing where I could contribute, although I've not been able to do much so far. I've stumbled into an issue with GBA sav files that is annoying, to say the least, and I was hoping someone could point me into the right direction, as all my searches so far have been fruitless (some people had issues that were more or less similar, but not quite the same).

    Equipment:
    • ds-lite
    • ezflash 3+1 [tested Ok with memtestARM
    • acekard2i with AKAIO 1.4.1 (05/04/09) using the loaders from 05/30 due to the softreset issue (I didnt had this issue before with these loaders nor with the current ones)
    • 8GB SanDisk sdhc formated with the Panasonic Formatter
    Issue:
    Whenever a GBA rom is loaded, it creates the sav file normally, depending on the rom it even lets you save information, but after a shutdown or a reset, all is lost (even though the file is still there). The issue itself varies from game to game, but ultimately it looks like the sav file is not being created properly.

    How to reproduce:[*]Load Phantasy Star Collection rom (0770)[*]Start Phantasy Star 1 and select New Game[*]Save the game[*]Verify that it actually saving by going to the save menu again[*]Hit start and select Quit (this takes you back to the game selection screen)[*]Select Phantasy Star 1 again and select Continue (nothing will happen, which is the behavior when you have no saved games)[*]Start a New Game[*]Try to save the game, verify that the save you had before is no longer thereOn Castlevania Harmony of Dissonance it simply hangs. Please note that both the roms I've mentioned worked just fine before, and I have backups of the .sav files from several days

    Steps tried to solve the issue:
    • Format the card with the Panasonic Formatter
    • Copy the Akaio firmware again
    • Delete the savlist.bin file, along with the sav files and try to save a game from the beginning
    • replace existing .sav files with backups
    Status so far:
    Out of ideas. If someone else already had this issue posted here somewhere, I apologize for the inconvenience, but I was unable to find it on my searches, if anyone can point it to me, I would be very grateful.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    open your 3in1 and hook a volt meter to the battery, if the battery is good it will read 3volts. from what you are describing i think that your battery could be dead. without the battery save data will not be stored after you power off. the battery preserves the sram bank which holds your save data. there are a few guides on how to replace the battery.

    this might help:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=167814

    if you have a 3in1+ then perhaps the issue is just with the "+" cart and the akaio native gba code. give gba exploader a try. please keep in mind that akaio adds a 16byte header to the gba save file. so any akaio made gba saves will not work with gba exploader unless you manually strip out that data using a hex editor.

    -another world
     
  3. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    I do not think it is a 3in1+, at least the box doesn't say anything and it worked just fine for 2-3 months. gba exploder doesn't seem to be able to actually find the 3in1, which is odd though.

    Nevertheless, thanks man. I will see if I can get it fixed and will answer here, so if someone else has this issue in the future we can just defer them to this thread.
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    use the most recent version of gba exploader. it was updated for the "+". make sure you flash something to NOR or the cart won't register in the ds, and some homebrew can't make use of it. gba exploader will tell you at the top what verison you have. also keep in mind that these can sit around for a long time. the battery might be up to a yr old (and unused) by the time you get it. dead batteries on arrival is not something new with the 3in1 kits.

    this is the version of gba exploader you want:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5158

    check this guide, it might help you while trying to figure out what 3in1 you have:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=130659

    -another world
     
  5. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    edit: ...or not. [​IMG]
     
  6. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Bingo, indeed it is a 3in1+. Odd thing it was working just fine, in fact, perfectly so far. So I will go with your battery theory as of now. GBA Exploder now detects it, but as far as running stuff, not much success. Will keep doing tests while I try to find a volt meter.

    Thanks
     
  7. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, turns out it wasn't the battery. I've managed to get a volt meter and it reads 3.2v so it is fine (not really sure if I should be happy about that). So that leaves me clueless on what to do next. It was working just fine and it suddenly started acting odd as I have mentioned before.

    As of know, gbaexploader doesn't work, I mean, it detects the card but hangs midway. I will do some more tests, maybe I can find something to make it work.

    Nevertheless, if anyone has any other suggestion I'd be more than willing to test it out [​IMG]

    Will post any new results I might get
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    no idea at this point. if it is saving while you play and you can load a save while playing then the sram is good. if you shut off the ds, turn it back on and you can't dump the save, then its usually a battery issue.

    a full format, followed by 2 gba roms to test with. use the same rom just rename it. load one with akaio and load the other with gba exploader. see what happens.

    -another world
     
  9. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Alright I will try it (btw I can save while playing, but can't load).

    Freaking odd stuff [​IMG]
     
  10. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    I am starting to believe that there might be an issue with the 3+1 itself, for when I load the games to NOR, the same behavior applies (freezes, not actually saving, etc). Is there a way for me to be sure though? Before I go out and spend some more money into it?
     
  11. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Got a question about 3+1 though, regardless of Acekard and AKAIO, if I flash the rom to the NOR, it should, in theory, behave just like a regular GBA cartrige right? Cause if so, then I guess the card is probably the issue, even though the battery is fine and the 3+1 tester shows no errors.
     
  12. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    load the game to the nor memory with gba exploader
    to launch use the DS menu as a gba cart
    waring with the Phantasy Star one there is an issue with the gba version that will hang when saving at the start of a music loop the issue happens with the original cart
     
  13. ts.salvador
    OP

    Newcomer ts.salvador Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Heya Dewback, thanks for the reply.

    I had noticed that bug before, but that aint the issue here though.

    Anyway decided to try a completely different rom (Final Fantasy 1+2, using as a gba cart) and guess what? When I attempt to save the game it simply says "Save failed", so, considering that the battery appears to be fine (3.2v) I can only guess that the 3+1 is borked :/ The homebrew utility for testing the memory detects no errors though.

    @Another World: Tried that and even used a different microsd card, same behavior :/

    Any more suggestions or do you believe I should go and buy a new one?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page