AK2 died after 4 months of use

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by deathfisaro, Nov 4, 2008.

Nov 4, 2008
  1. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Infinite loading ROMs, runs homebrew (the only homebrew I have is Warcraft TD) fine.
    Since I read AK2 failures usually show within the first couple months, I thought mine was fine but I guess not.

    Infinite loading when put in another DS as well. Another symptom includes DS not recognizing the cart at bootup (says nothing inserted, again from both DS).
    I tried reinserting the memory card and the cart over a dozen times each, no luck at all.

    R4 died after 15 months, AK2 died after 4 months, N-Card still fully functional.
    I'm gonna order a 2.1 and hope for the better. But for $30? I didn't exactly expect that

    edit: Popped in AK team's v4.11 loader and I get infinite loading on the bottom screen and infinite 01010101 on the top screen.
     
  2. evilhomura89

    Member evilhomura89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Malaysia
    email the acekard team...they might able to give u a free replacement at no extra cost..
     
  3. lyra

    Newcomer lyra Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    I got the same problem with the Acekard 2 i bought in June from DealExtreme.
    The error started appearing after 3 months and a half of use.

    Within a week, i got a free replacement cart (version 2.1) from the Acekard team after emailing and explaining them the problem.
     
  4. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Acekards have a one-year warranty. The reseller you purchased from ( if they are reputable) should be willing to replace it for you.
     
  5. ZPE

    Member ZPE GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you try other memory cards?
     
  6. mcjones92

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    I second e-mail Acekard. They often help there customers out. Anyway, the 2.1 is around $13 USD? So it shouldn't be that much...
     
  7. cepheus

    Member cepheus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Ottawa - THE CAPITALLLLLL!!!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    yep deal extreme has it for 30 bucks

    however, you should be able to get an ak2.1 from the team.
     
  8. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    You must be thinking of a different flashcart.
     
  9. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Well thanks for the suggestions people, I'd email the Acekard team and try to get it exchanged.
    I won it from the last quiz, I don't wanna hassle the staffs about the problem so I'll probably deal with it myself.

    I ordered one from kickgaming just because they're close, I'm dying to play Cid and Chocobo Mystery Dungeon so I don't mind not getting it for $13.
     
  10. superkrm

    Member superkrm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    a Rick Rolled Nation
    Country:
    United States
    my 2.1 died after 8 hours of use.
    If my replacement kicks the bucket too, I'll get another cyclods instead.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    green or black pcb?

    -another world
     
  12. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    For v2.1 which PCB's supposed to be the better one?
    My old one was green for sure.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the green pcb are ak2's where they added an extra bit to do debugging and make sure the kit was up to specs. they were modded to be fixed. i forget what they added exactly i just remember being told that in an e-mail by team acekard. the black pcb is a new redesign 2.1. this kit features lower power consumption, a custom controller chip, and fixes that eliminate the issues found on the ak2. -- the black is new and fixed but butter i'm not sure. my green kit make less noise when inserted and has better spring response. it feels more like the ak2 which i like better, but thats a personal opinion.

    it's not unheard of for the fixed green pcb kits to fail. i'm sorry you had to experience it but don't let it sully your views of acekard.

    cheers,
    -another world
     
  14. schmoey

    Newcomer schmoey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    Haven't played on my DS for about 2-3 weeks due to school, and it turns out I've got this same exact error now too haha. Stuck at loading, homebrew works fine, and the 01010101's (not to mention a salmon-coloured "Loading" font) when using AK's 4.11 loader.

    My AK2 is from DX. The one I have now is from July-ish, and it's actually a replacement for a FAT error'd one purchased around mid/late May *sigh*

    I guess I'll try contacting AK to see what they can do
     

Share This Page