1. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,920
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure recovery.pup can only be installed via recovery, regular update only through the system menu.
     
    godreborn likes this.
  2. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,259
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can install the regular pup in either recovery or home menu. if it were me, I'd probably choose recovery. I've seen the recovery menu on the ps4, the file itself, it's just called something like safemode.self. on the ps3, it's called the emer_init.self, and it's part of the core os. I'm not sure if the recovery menu on the ps4 is part of the core os, but it most likely is. it's a more restrictive mode where less is likely to go wrong, so it's safer, but in reality I don't think it matters much. something would probably have to be wrong with the ps4 for it to have issues installing a pup in the home menu.
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  3. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,920
    Country:
    United States
    Well it depends on if he want to keep his files, if he want to then he has to do the regular update, if he doesn't want to then he can wipe it using the recovery.pup, if he was upgrading the internal drive then he to use recovery to reinstall OS.
     
  4. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,259
    Country:
    United States
    I think he's talking about just the regular pup, not the recovery pup, whether it can be installed in the home menu or the recovery or which one is more prudent. I don't think it really matters much.
     
  5. stranno

    stranno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Playable has returned to the scene as well. Another of those.. DUPLEX groups.
     
  6. Devrim

    Devrim GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Netherlands


    I'm on 5.05 and wants to go to 6.72 and keep my files

    Regular PUP from home menu is the way to go I guess
     
    Last edited by Devrim, Jul 17, 2020
  7. Dvdxploitr

    Dvdxploitr GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Country:
    United States
    Are there some kind of game compatibility issues or something? God of War SHOULD work on 6.72 right? I've tried 3 PKG files and every one of them crashes.....
     
  8. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,259
    Country:
    United States
    yes
     
  9. kevin corms

    kevin corms GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    685
    Country:
    Canada
    can you not update firmware without connecting to sony?
     
  10. Dvdxploitr

    Dvdxploitr GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Country:
    United States
    Are the DNS servers down? I can't get the exploit page to open anymore...
     
  11. KiiWii

    OP KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AlAzif is updating a few things over this weekend. Including caching.
     
  12. KiiWii

    OP KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can update entirely offline.
     
    Hayato213 likes this.
  13. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,920
    Country:
    United States
    Updating or not it is your choice, 6.72 is unstable as it has been stated already, I would just sit at 5.05 for now.
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  14. MikeNS

    MikeNS GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United States
    What do i have to lose is my system is already on 5.55 and update to 6.72
     
    KiiWii and schatzi24 like this.
  15. KiiWii

    OP KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing to lose on 5.55.
     
  16. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,920
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing to lose if you are on 5.55, I was referring to people that is on exploitable firmware going to another exploitable firmware, 5.55 doesn't count. Those firmwares are 4.05, 4.55, 5.05 going to 6.72 directly etc.
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Jul 17, 2020
    KiiWii likes this.
  17. mattyxarope

    mattyxarope GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    United States
    (ignore this)
     
    Last edited by mattyxarope, Jul 18, 2020
    hippy dave likes this.
  18. Rikua

    Rikua GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    "First go to [Settings] > [Network] > [Set up Internet Connection] > [LAN / WIFI] (your choice) > [CUSTOM]
    Set IP as AUTOMATIC.
    Set DHCP as DO NOT SPECIFY.
    DNS PRIMARY: 165.227.83.145 / DNS SECONDARY: 192.241.221.79
    (Primary/secondary order does not matter)
    Do not use Proxy Server.
    When "Test Internet Connection" appears hit Circle to back out.
    Go [Settings] > [Network] > [View Connection Status] to get your IP address ready for FTP or other payloads.

    Now open your browser or user guide and you should see the exploit host.

    (This method is RISKY if the DNS is down for any reason)"

    So by setting up said DNS, that will block updates to my system? Also I saw that they are currently working on it and saw a report of the DNS servers being down. Should I just be waiting? I really want to block sony, but I don't want to go through my router. I just initialized my PS4 that was on 5.50 and have the PS4UPDATE.pup (Checked its md5), going to install it via safe mode and I currently have no internet settings attached. As I have not been on a hacked 5.05 system and can not use an update blocker homebrew, what are my options?
     
  19. KiiWii

    OP KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Rikua you can always block the addresses from the OP in your router to avoid accidental update. And you can
    FTP in Make Two Folders Name one
    PS4UPDATE.PUP
    And Name the Other
    PS4UPDATE.PUP.net.temp

    for now 6.72 is too unstable to be fun. Wait a little longer, more stability awaits ;)
     
    elm likes this.
  20. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    If anyone needs cheap storage this is what I did and I'm very satisfied with it.

    $44.99 for 3 TB (used but has a 1 year warranty)

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X37FQBU/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    It's a 3.5 so won't work as an internal has to be external but those work just as well as internal for games. So you'll need an enclosure like this https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X37FQBU/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    I got mine today and already installing PKGs to it.
     
    Last edited by Jayinem81, Jul 17, 2020
    KiiWii likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Exploit, [AIO], Guide