After using bootmii, do I need to install EVERYTHING again?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by k4ever, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I softmodded my wii using this Deviyl method:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890
    Then I wanted to play some wads through an sd card but couldnt. I tried to install cios60 via wad manager 1.5 and at the end I got my wii bricked.
    I used bootmii as boot2 and restored the nand. Now, all the wads I installed in the wii as channels were deleted, as well as all the options I changed in the system settings after I created the bootmii back up.
    My question is: What else got deleted and what do I have to install again?
    If you see the steps in the method I used ( check link ), Im not sure if I have to install cios38r14 again, as well as preloader, neogamma r7, patch ios36 again etc ...
    I have all those files and folders in the sd card by the way.
    Also I notice that I dont get the bootmii options again after I restart the wii. Does this mean that I have to create ANOTHER nand backup? If so, can I create it AFTER I reinstall all the .dol, .wad files I used to have before my wii got bricked. That way I wont have to go through this tedious process again.
    The only thing that remained was the homebrew channel, but of course I installed this before I performed the backup, so its obvious this chanell will remain.
     


  2. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    They got “deleted” because a nand is what you had on your wii the time you did a nand backup


    So EVERYTHING u did to ur wii after doin the nand backup is not gonna be there
     
  3. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Every change you did after the backup making is removed, so I can't tell you exactly what titles got deleted. In a few words, yeah, you'll have to do those steps again, :/... And yep, I recommend you to do another NAND backup when you're done. I'm plenty sure you don't wanna lose your progress again.
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    but make sure you keep your old backup nand on your pc in case your one on the sd card gets corrupted
     
  5. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Cios60 is so outdated. What the hell is that thing still being used for?
     
  6. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    How do I create another backup? Why I cant use the one I already made? Or is this because I should make a second backup AFTER I install everything I want it to be in the wii memory, so in case of having a brick, I can restore it to that point?
     
  7. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Exactly, you got the idea, [​IMG]. You can compare it with those "restore points" that Windows and another OS have.
     
  8. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the double post but I have one last question ( as well as the one before that ).
    When I created the nand backup I got a keys.bin and nand.bin files and also a folder containing armboot.bin. and ppcboot.elf.
    I have these files safe guarded in my pc just in case. Now, if I want to do another backup, should I delete the nand.bin as well as other files in order to get another nand backup? If I keep the first one and attempt to make a second one, will the second one overwrite the first one? Will a problem occur? I read that the files in the bootmii folder are necessary in order to start using the program after a wii restart.
    What about the keys.bin file? Should I keep it in the sd card or delete it?
     
  9. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Keep the NAND.bin and keys.bin on your computer. For saftey, when you do a second backup, it WILL overwrite the one on the SD card, also copy the bootmii folder onto your computer, for saftey.
     
  10. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    The truth is that the "bootmii" folder and its data is created when you are installing BootMii as Boot2 or as IOS with the HackMii Installer. The keys.bin contains your console keys. The nand.bin, well, that's obviously the NAND backup (you can simply notice that with its huge size). Regarding your another question, the BootMii Backup Utility will overwrite the existing nand.bin automatically. Also, there's no need to delete the bootmii folder. Otherwise, BootMii won't show up. And yep, it is recommended to keep the keys.bin on the SD root.
     
  11. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you guys, you all have been extremely helpful. I tried to get info about how to use bootmii here and there, but none of those sites were as informative as here.

    Now back to the problem of launching wads via sd card and not through the wii. [​IMG]
     
  12. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Errr... Use Dop-IOS to download, trucha patch and install the IOS 60. I think that's the safest way to install a patched IOS 60.
     
  13. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    How exactly do I do that? I downloaded dop dos v8 but I dont know what are my next moves.
    Some people say that the reason why my wii got bricked was because preloader freezes your wii if you try installing cios60 via wad manager IF YOU ALREADY HAVE PRELOADED INSTALLED.
    Source: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171877&st=15 ( check nabster92 post ).
    Does this mean I did everything right but the problem occurred because of preloader?
     
  14. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    LOL, I didn't know you had Preloader installed. Then, the really problem is that Preloader v0.29 uses IOS 60 if it is encountered on the NAND, and it makes some "special" patches to it (maybe someone can explain this better than me). If you overwrite the IOS 60, you get a brick because Preloader installs before System Menu, and it's using that IOS. Plus, the System Menu you have uses the same IOS, so it is a bit complicated to understand, :/... So, yeah, you're right. Everything could have went just fine...

    EDIT: silly me, I didn't explain you how to use Dop-IOS, x'D. Well, is really easy: just scroll all the way right until you find the IOS 60. Then, download it with A. When the app asks if you wanna trucha patch it, press A. When the download finishes, press HOME to return to the HBC. Simple as that.
     
  15. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I will have to uninstall preloader then.
    By the way, when I downloaded a rar containing dop-dos files, there were many files on it. Which ones are the ones to take out and where do I have to put them in the sd card. How do I open it?
    Sorry for how ignorant I am, but Im not that technical savvy =/.
     
  16. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Just decompress the "hbc_dopios_v8" folder on SD:\apps. That's the directory the HBC uses to read the applications from.
     
  17. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Cool! ... Now I swear this is my last inquiry =D ...
    How can I uninstall preloader? My firmware is 4.0u, so should I just download a system menu 4.0u wad and install it via wad manager? Or do I use a program called "anyregionchanger"?
    I dont want to mess my system again today, so I just want to be sure what Im doing.
     
  18. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Reinstalling the System Menu WAD should do the work. However, when you're done, use the Davi92's NandClean to delete any Preloader's residue from the NAND, [​IMG].
     
  19. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need to uninstall preloader to patch IOS60. If you already have preloader and want to patch the trucha bug in it, use dop-IOS to install IOS60 v 6174 with the sig hash check and then reinstall preloader afterwards so it can patch that new IOS60 with ES_Identify again.

    That time you "bricked" you should have still been able to hold reset to get into preloader from which you could have still loaded the HBC to reinstall preloader again.

    Also, read through my guide and tell me if it wouldn't have answered any of the questions you had.
     
  20. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Thanks for those clarifications, nabster, =D.
     

Share This Page